Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings. Zetoc can be set to automatically send you the contents lists for your favorite journals as new issues appear. Zetoc covers 1993 to date, and is updated daily.
Log in with your Single Sign On and choose your favorite journals from the list.
Many of our journals are available electronically. You can look for a journal title using SOLO or OU e-Journals.
If you are searching for a particular article or wish to find articles focused on a specific topic, you will need to use a bibliographic database. See the 'Databases' tab in this guide for more information.
Tip: When using OU e-Journals to find a journal, for a one-word title (e.g. 'Science') change the default search from Contains to Starts with or Exact.
If an electronic version of a journal is not available, we may have it in print copy. Check SOLO for any printed copies in the library (usually older volumes).
Our library catalogue SOLO does not generally index individual articles, only journal titles. To search for journal articles you will will need to use a bibliographic database. These databases index the contents of thousands of journals and can be searched by author, title, topic, date etc.
Many academic institutions now collect peer-reviewed author manuscripts and pre-prints from their academics into digital repositories. This can provide easy open access to high quality scientific publications. You can find repositories and search their contents using the OpenDOAR directory and CORE.
If you want to restrict your SOLO search to journals only, you can do so by selecting the 'Advanced search' option from the SOLO homepage and then limiting the 'Resource Type' option to journals.
We receive some material via Electronic Legal Deposit. Access to this material is restricted to Bodleian Libraries reading rooms. This material is clearly identified on the SOLO catalogue as shown in the image below. To find out more, please see our LibGuide covering Electronic Legal Deposit material - https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/eld-explained/inbrief