Skip to Main Content

Zoology: Home

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students studying zoology at the University of Oxford, although new researchers joining the Department of Zoology may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for zoology, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases and archives.

Finding books for zoology

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for zoology and printed books, including the main science collection in the Radcliffe Science Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for zoology below but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for zoology below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Contact us

If you have questions about the collections in zoology or ornithology, please contact the appropriate librarian for further information.

Zoology archive and collections

specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Alexander library and ornithology collections

Sophie Wilcox (sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)

Related guides

Key libraries

Radcliffe Science Library