Skip to main content

Zoology: Home

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Library Assistant

Library Assistant Logo

Are you an Oxford Fresher?

Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere.  You can use Library Assistant to -

  • Find libraries around Oxford
  • Get help finding books on your reading lists
  • Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying
  • ...and much more

Visit Library Assistant at -

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/assistant

Radcliffe Science Library

The Radcliffe Science Library holds the majority of the University's collections for Zoology. Here you will find -

  • Undergraduate textbooks
  • Research monographs
  • Interlibrary loan/document supply service
  • Silent and group study areas
  • Computing, photocopying and scanning services

The Radcliffe Science Library website has details of opening hours, location and staff. From 23rd December 2019 the Radcliffe Science Library building will close for refurbishment for approximately 18 months. Library services for science will be relocated to a temporary home at the Vere Harmsworth Library. More information is available here - https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science/rsl-refurbishment

Alexander Library of Ornithology

The Alexander Library holds the University's ornithological collections, including -

  • Books
  • Journals
  • Publications from ornithological societies
  • Rare printed ornithological works
  • Diaries, letters and notebooks of a number of ornithologists.

The Alexander Library collections are now kept off-site. For further information please vist the Alexander Library LibGuide.

 

Other Libraries

Other libraries in Oxford and further afield also hold information of interest to biologists -

Oxford University Museum of Natural History - The Hope Library contains a specialist entomology collection.

Natural History Museum, London - Extensive library collections in many branches of Zoology.

British Library - Extensive collections in all branches of science and medicine.

Contact the Librarian

If you have questions about the collections in zoology or ornithology, please contact the appropriate librarian for further information.

Zoology archive and collections

Oliver Bridle (oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)

Alexander library and ornithology collections

Sophie Wilcox (sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)

Other Useful Guides