Skip to main content

Workshops and Classes: Keeping up to date with research

Keeping up to date with research

Below you will find a series of videos adapted from the iSkills workshop Getting information to come to you. The videos introduce you to how to set up alerts so that you automatically receive notification of new research in your area. The videos cover how to set up alerts in:

We would welcome feedback on this series of videos. Please fill in this short survey: https://oxford.onlinesurveys.ac.uk/keeping-up-to-date-video-series-copy

The video creators are Helen Bond and Helen Worrell.

SOLO

This video shows you how to set up email alerts in SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool.

Video created by Helen Bond. Created 5th May 2020.

Databases

Discover how to create email alerts in databases. The video concentrates spefically on the database 'Web of Science', which, despite its name, covers all disciplines. Learn how to create emails alerts for keyword searches and how to create citation alerts for specific articles.

To find databases for your area, browse Databases A-Z or look at the guide for your subject area to find databases recommended by your subject librarian.

Video created by Helen Worrell. Created 18th May 2020.

Journal Table of Contents Services

An introduction to the journal Table of Contents services JournalTOCs and Zetoc. These services will email you the table of contents for newly published issues of your key journals.

Video created by Helen Bond. Created 7th May 2020.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a great way to keep up to date with stories surrounding your research area and studies. This video introduces you to the database Nexis UK, through which you can find and read full-text newspaper articles related to your subject and set up alerts so that you are notified when any new articles come out based in your area.

Video created by Helen Worrell. Created 20th May 2020.

JiscMail

JiscMail is an academic mailing list service, which allows academics, researchers and support staff to discuss and collaborate with their peers. This video introduces you to JiscMail, how to find mailing lists and subscribe to them.

Video created by Helen Bond. Created 11th May 2020.

Contact us

Find out about iSkills (what it is, who may attend, timetables & booking)

Contact us:

Email: usered@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Telephone: (01865) (2)72841

Join our mailing list:
email wiser-subscribe@maillist.ox.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter @bodleianskills