Skip to main content

Workshops and Classes: iSkills: Discovering archives at the Bodleian Libraries

Details and booking

Bodleian iSkills: Discovering archives at the Bodleian Libraries

This online session will introduce participants to the key catalogues and finding aids for post-1500 archives and manuscripts at the Bodleian Libraries. In particular the session will focus on Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts, the new online catalogue for post-1500 archives and manuscripts. The session will also briefly introduce some of the major UK online gateways for discovering archives.

Subjects to be covered include:

  • How to use the Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts online catalogue
  • How to use the Bodleian’s Summary Catalogue of Western Manuscripts
  • Other printed archive catalogues in the Bodleian
  • National archive gateways

Intended Audience:  Postgraduates, researchers, academics and anyone interested in the topic

Dates and booking

Next date TBA > Booking closed

Notice of recording

We will record each live online training session for accessibility and inclusivity reasons. The recording will include what appears on the screen, the audio stream, and the content of the chat panel, and will be shared with all attendees after the session. It may also be put onto Canvas (Oxford University’s virtual learning environment) where it will be available to anyone who has an SSO.

More information

 

Presenters:  Matthew Neely; Jeremy McIlwain; Lucy McCann

Format:  Pre-recorded presentation, followed by online interactive Q&A session with opportunity for discussion and follow-up one-to-one help.

What you will need:  You will need to provide your own computer with a browser (must be Chrome or Edge) or the Microsoft Teams desktop app installed.  Please read our guidance notes below on using Teams.  You will need a webcam and microphone with speakers or headset. You need to be online with a reliable internet connection.

Related courses