The Visual Resources Centre is currently closed due to COVID-19 preventative measures. If you have any queries, please email the Visual Resources Centre Assistant, Francesca Issatt:
The Visual Resources Centre forms part of the Department of History of Art. It's purpose is to support staff, students and researchers in the provision and creation of digital images for teaching, learning and research. The Centre also preserves and provides access to the Department's analogue collections.
The Centre contains over 90,000 35mm slides of art and architecture from classical antiquity to the present day. There is also a rare collection of over 65,000 glass lantern slides from the nineteenth and early twentieth century. A significant proportion of this focuses on architecture.
Further to this the Visual Resources Centre also holds several photographic collections which are attributed to the work of various individuals. These collections have been bequeathed or donated to the Department. A number of anonymous photographic albums of art and architecture also make up part of the collections.
All of these collections may be accessed by appointment and can be digitised upon request.
To see what interesting things happen in the Department of History of Art check out our blog.
The Centre is able to digitise material on an ad-hoc basis with the use of an A3 flatbed scanner, 35mm slide scanner, digital SLR camera and a copy stand.
Researchers are welcome to use the facilities to create digital copies of material after an induction of the equipment.
The Visual Resources Centre is open
Monday - Thursday 9am - 5pm
Friday 9am - 4pm
If you would like to view the collections or have a question related to the resources please email the Visual Resources Assistant Francesca Issatt at firstname.lastname@example.org
History of Art Department
University of Oxford
Suite 9, Littlegate House
St Ebbe’s, Oxford
OX1 1PT, United Kingdom