Skip to Main Content

US Government Publications: Executive/Presidential

About

The power of the Executive Branch is vested in the President of the United States, who also acts as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President is responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws written by Congress and, to that end, appoints the heads of the federal agencies, including the Cabinet. 

The Cabinet and independent federal agencies are responsible for the day-to-day enforcement and administration of federal laws. These departments and agencies have missions and responsibilities as widely divergent as those of the Department of Defense and the Environmental Protection Agency, the Social Security Administration and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Databases of the main executive documents include:

Latest Presidency resources saved on diigo

Loading ...

Glossary

Budget of the United States Government - a collection of documents which provide the President's proposals for a given fiscal financial year. Includes details such as the condition of the Treasury of the previous fiscal year, and the projected condition in the current and future fiscal years. The budget comes out before the Economic Report, and must be submitted to Congress by the first Monday of February (Budget and Accounting Act of 1921). 

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) -  presents the official and complete text of agency regulations in an organized fashion in a single publication (updated by the amendments in the Daily Federal Register). Separated into 50 titles covering broad subject areas. 

Daily/Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents - published since 1993, these are official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. 

Economic Report of the President - written by the Council of Economic Advisors, it provides an overview of the nation's economic progress, alongside planned goals in areas such as employment and federal government budgets, alongside a program for reaching key objectives. 

FR (Federal Register) - the official journal of the United States Government. Published every Federal working day, it provides legal notice of administrative rules and notices and Presidential documents in a comprehensive, uniform manner. Includes Federal Agency Regulations, Executive Orders, Proclamations and other Presidential Documents. 

Messages and Papers of the President - an eleven-volume series comprising proclamations, special messages, and inauguration speeches from George Washington to Howard Taft. 

OMB - Stands for Office of Management and Budget, which publishes the Budget of the United States Government. 

Presidential Libraries - formally begun in 1939, these are 15 libraries administered by the federal government, storing the papers and records of each President. Some presidents pre-1939 have unofficial libraries/collections which are outside the federal government's control. 

Public Papers of the Presidents - contains the speeches and papers of the American presidents post Taft. 

Presidential Papers and records

Executive records

Some reports and records are held in the VHL. Search SOLO to check if we hold physical copies. 

You may also want to check:

Presidential Elections