Skip to main content

US Government Publications: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying American politics and government (both current and historical) at the University of Oxford, although students of American history, law and culture may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about key resources, including bibliographic and full text databases, online collections of primary sources and other relevant websites, by using the tabs above. 

 

Finding books for US government studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books on US government studies, including the main collections at the Vere Harmsworth Library (VHL) and Social Science Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections visit our Books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for US government studies below but you can find a longer list on the Journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for US government studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

If you want to search for and browse all databases the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated Databases A-Z platform or SOLO.

Other key resources

You can search each of our suggested resources via the following government branches: 

(note: resources related to the US legal system and the Supreme Court will be primarily located in the Law Library - see Key Libraries for more information). 

You might also find useful resources on our Diigo page, which is a collection of freely available web resources covering a range of American related subjects. 

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Bethan Davies
Contact:
Vere Harmsworth Library,
Rothermere American Institute,
1a South Parks Road,
Oxford, OX1 3UB
01865 282701
Subjects: American Studies

Key libraries

Other libraries