Skip to Main Content

Theology and Religion: Databases

For students and researchers studying Theology and Religion at the University of Oxford

Introduction

Bibliographic databases are a powerful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes but is not limited to journal articles, conference proceedings and books. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:

  • they provide powerful search functionality
  • have citation tools
  • have thesauri
  • their content is selected by experts in your subject

Bibliographic databases are useful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.

On this page you will find recommended bibliographic databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.

Bibliographic databases

Oxford subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. You will likely find you need to use several databases for a thorough search of your subject area. The tabs at the top of this section take you to key bibliographic databases for Theology and Religion and a link to browse all databases in Theology and Religion.

You can also search for specific databases via SOLO.

Help with bibliographic databases

For those seeking advice on accessing bibliographic databases, we recommend the following guides:

Below are key bibliographic databases applicable to those studying Theology and Religion at Oxford.

Access

Depending on the database provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials.

To browse a list of bibliographic databases for Theology and Religion, follow the link below which takes you through to Databases A-Z.

Definitions

Terms you may encounter in your research

Bibliographic database:
A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, statistics and more.

Abstracting service:
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides abstracts of publications.

Indexing service:
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides descriptors to help organise and navigate publications.

Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.

Database recommendations

If there is an eresource useful to your work that Oxford does not subscribe to, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required).