Skip to main content

Theology: Databases

Introduction

Using databases makes it easier to search journal articles, conference papers and books using one search on a particular subject. Some databases will have the full text available to read while others provide just an overview. Oxford's subscription databases can be accessed through SOLO or Databases A-Z. The page below introduces you to Databases A-Z and highlights a number of popular resources used for the study of Theology and Religion with instructions to assist.

Searching Databases

Oxford subscribes to a large number of bibliographic databases and these can be found in Database A-Z . To find out more about out Databases A-Z for Theology and Religion, take a look at the following guide:

The list below captures all of the relevant Theology and Religion databases. To access the resources, click on the hyperlinks.

LibGuide links for databases

Getting Started in Oxford libraries

If you want to find out more about how to use SOLO to search journals, then take a look at the video tutorials created by the iSkills team in their Workshops and Classes Libguide.


Discovering E-resources

This guide introduces you to e-resources and aims to explain where you can find e-resources, if and how you can access them, and where you can get help.


Preparing for your literature search in the Social Sciences

Part of the Workshops and Classses LibGuide, this page will take you through some handy praparation for carrying out resarch with databases.


Bodleian iSkills Handouts

For more written guidance on Databases A-Z or search techniques, take a look at this LibGuide page compiled by the iSkills team.

Request a resource

Recommend a Resource

If Oxford doesn't subscribe to a specific e-journal or any other online resource, visit the Recommend an e-resource or journal page and fill in the short form. Decisions on purchases will depend on cost and level of demand. 

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies

Bibliographical databases are the best tools for identifying content in a subject area or by an individual.

Oxford Bibliographies is different from most bibliographical databases, because its content has been selected by an academic panel, so you are guided to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. It covers classic and up-to-date monographs, collections,datasets, articles,and web-sites.Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field.

Why not watch a video form the Take a Tour pages to see Oxford Bibliographies in action or take a look at our PDF below to find out how to use this resource.

Past Masters

Past Masters is a collection of full-text humanities works in scholarly editions. It contains the works and/or correspondence of many major literary authors, philosophers and other intellectuals as well as collections of correspondence by period.

Find a guide on how to use Past masters here:

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Oxford Biblical Studies Online brings together Bible texts, commentaries, concordances, and other reference works in an integrated online environment. This resource enables users to explore the biblical world in all its complexity—the geography, history, archaeology, languages, literature, art, and architecture of the countries that border the Mediterranean and most of Western Asia.

Use of Oxford e-resources

Oxford subscribes to a wide range of e-resources, e-journals and e-books to support your research and study. Use of these is governed strictly by licence agreements.

Remember:

  • E-resources may be used for study and research but NOT for commercial purposes
  • You may NOT share your password or pass content from e-resources to anyone else
  • Systematic downloading or viewing of excessive amounts of data is strictly forbidden

Failure to comply may result in:

  • Referral to the University Proctors
  • Publishers withdrawing content from the whole university