Skip to Main Content

Theology and Religion: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Theology and Religion at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Theology and Religion, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Theology and Religion

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for Theology and Religion, including the main reference collection in the Bodleian Library and lending collections at the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library.  Below is a sample of ebook collections useful for the study of Theology and Religion. For more information about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Theology and Religion but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Theology and Religion below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Online resources

There are many alternative sources of information online for the study of Theology and Religion. These include pre-prints, open access repositories, websites and podcasts, among others. Take a look at the online resources page of this guide for an overview.

Looking for your course reading list or materials?

Subject Specialist

Dr Hilla Wait

Key libraries

A photo of the First Floor Reading Room of the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library


A number of other libraries may be relevant to your area of study. Visit the link below for a full list of Bodleian Libraries or see the books page of this guide.

Related guides