Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St Hilda's: Home

Welcome

Picture of St Hilda's College crest (Azure, on a fess or three estoiles gules in chief two unicorns' heads couped, in base a coiled serpent argent) with the text St Hilda's College, University of Oxford

Welcome to St Hilda's College Library!

We have a collection of over 70,000 books which we are continuously updating to support you, as a member of St Hilda's College, in your studies.

There are normally three of us in the library team plus our friendly college archivist! We're happy to assist you wherever we can - please come and ask any of us or email library@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk.

The Library is not open to members of other Oxford colleges and other Bodleian Libraries readers. If you have an enquiry about a resource that is only available at St Hilda's Library please contact the librarian via library@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk or phone 01865 276849.

Watch the video below for a quick introduction to St Hilda's Library:

UPDATE:

Fine are £1 per item per day for Short Loan books and those that have been recalled by another reader.

There are currently no fines for books that have not been requested by another reader and are on a standard loan.

Collections

Academic texts

The College Library houses over 70,000 academic books across all the subjects studied at undergraduate level, with multiple copies of the most heavily-used items. We also hold an increasing number of books to support taught graduate courses.

See the subjects we cover, their classmark and where to find them in the Library in the Finding Books section.

Fiction, leisure and welfare

The Library holds a collection of popular fiction, welfare, travel books and other books of general interest, which can be found in the Library IT Room in the basement, at classmark 800. All of these items can be borrowed in the same way as academic books.

Special Collections

The Library holds a small but significant collection of around 600 rare books, covering the 15th century to the present day. It is made up of donations, most notably by Dorothea Beale (1831-1906), the founder of St Hilda's College, and of books that were part of the Library’s original collection. The collection is miscellaneous, with strengths in history, classics and literature.

A handlist is available upon request. The collection is currently being catalogued onto SOLO. If you would like to know more about the collection or consult any of our rare books, please send us an email or visit the enquiry desk during opening hours

Journals

Journals, also known as periodicals or serials, are the main forum through which academic research findings are published, reviewed and critiqued. Journals, therefore, allow you to keep up to date with new developments in your discipline, and to learn about very specialised or specific topics in great depth. Most journals can be accessed online - find them by searching for the journal title on SOLO. Find out more about online resources in our e-resources section.

We subscribe to a number of journals in print, you can find the latest copies, in the IT room and Sheila Nemet room, of:

  • New Scientist
  • Scientific American
  • Times Literary Supplement
  • London Review of Books 
  • New York Review of Books

We hold backdated issues of these and other journals downstairs in the Winslow Room. To find these journals, search for the journal title on SOLO to get the classmark.

Journals may be consulted in the Library or signed out for one day at the enquiry desk.

DVDs

We hold a small number of Foreign Language DVDs. These can be issued using the self-service machine but the disk must be collected from the library desk during staffed hours.

Contact Us

Library Team

01865 276849

Eleanor Kelly - Librarian:

Emily Main - Library Assistant:

Archives Team

Olly Mahony - Archivist:

01865 276882

 

   

Opening Times

Opening hours:

8am - 1am

Staffed hours:

8.30am - 5pm, Monday to Friday

Quick Links