Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Politics & IR

Online news sources

BBC Monitoring: International Reports

Full text from 1979-present available via Lexis Library. Provides access to broadcasts from 120 countries, and emphasises information from counties for which other news sources are not readily available.

CIAO (columbia international affairs online)

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Interactive maps provide access to country reports obtained from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)

Contains news sources in English and native languages from emerging market countries along with macroeconomic, financial, industry and company analysis data and reports.

FACTIVA

Provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Selected broadcasts, newspaper articles and government statements from around the world, translated into English and issued by an agency of the US government.

NEXIS UK (aka LexisNexis)

Contains the text of news stories from over 20,000 sources including newspapers, news wires, magazines, and websites.

World Press Trends Database

A primary source of data on the newspaper industry worldwide includes data from more than 70 countries, available as individual country reports, and aggregated to reveal trends on circulation and readership.

World News Connection Archive 1995-2013

Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from around the world, translated into English by the US government.

Modern Political Papers

Official Publications Online

A subscription service from The Stationery Office. Content includes parliamentary proceedings, debates, parliamentary papers and legislation. All can be searched through a single search interface. Coverage is comprehensive from 2008 onwards although earlier material is available.
To get more detailed information on how to access resources, including Modern political papers available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library".
(see WebLearn for login details)

Conflict & Risk

ITERATE International Terrorism Database

Provides data on terrorists and events of terrorism around the world from 1968 to the present.

Political Risk Services (PRS)

PRS Researcher's Dataset: ICRG T3B - Political Risk (CD-ROM)
International Country Risk Guide (PDF)

Logo of ETH Zurich Center for Security Studies: Datasets

CSS ETH presents a number of prominent sites that provide statistical information on a variety of economic, development and security-related topics.

SIPRISTOCKHOLM INTERNATIONAL PEACE RESEARCH INSTITUTE

SIPRI provides data and analysis on conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament, based on open sources.

Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR)

The data resources were prepared by researchers associated with the Center for Systemic Peace and are generated and/or compiled using open source information. These resources are made available as a service to the research community. All CSP/INSCR data resources have been cross-checked with other data resources to ensure, as far as possible, that the information recorded is accurate, reliable, and comprehensive.

World Religion Database (WRD)

Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050.

Index to the Study of Religions Online

Online version of the Brill journal Science of Religion. A selective bibliography, rather than a straightforward index. The English language abstracts are drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages and reflect an array of complementary disciplines.