Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: International Data

Global Data

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research   This resource requires you to register before use

ICPSR holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data including global.
To use this service register to set up a MyData account whilst connected to the Oxford network.

OECD Data   Oxford SSO required to access this resource  This resource requires you to register before use

Main Economic Indicators

The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators. The variables cover national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends and trade. The dataset also includes the OECD's leading indicators (key variables that signal changes in the business cycle). Runs from January 1960 to the current month.

OECD Structural Analysis (STAN)

This portfolio includes four databases each useful at different units of analyses. The STAN indicatorsÆ industry list is based upon ISIC revision 3 and covers 65 sectors where detailed information varies across country, indicator, and coverage: STAN fills the gap between Industrial survey data (microdata) and National level aggregate statistics (macrodata). You can use STAN to analyse industrial structure and the evolution of industrial performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares) within and across countries. The databases are updated on an annual basis and run from 1970 onwards.

OECD National Accounts

The OECD National Accounts presents a series of databases all containing data related to national accounts and its components including comparable statistics for key indicators. Countries covered vary but generally include OECD countries and a select group of non-OECD countries. The database is updated on a quarterly and annual basis and runs from 1955.

Main Science and Technology Indicators

The 149 Main Science and Technology Indicators provides final or provisional results and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, and international trade in highly Research and Development intensive industries.

Measuring Globalisation 2001

The Measuring Globalisation Statistics database contains figures on foreign affiliates (inward investment) by investing country in the manufacturing sector covering variable

OECD iLibrary

Statistical databases and series plus full-text books, periodicals and reports released by the OECD, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF containing new and unique citation tool for datasets and tables.
For core OECD data go to OECD.Stat Extracts.

UK Data Archive   Oxford SSO required to access this resource  This resource requires you to register before use

The curator of one of the worlds largest collections of social science and humanities digital data. Extensive information is provided on managing, archiving and analysing data but collections access is via its sister organisation the UK Data Service.

UK Data Service   Oxford SSO required to access this resource  This resource requires you to register before use

Provides access to social and economic data deposited into the UK Data Archive.

UN Data

Internet-based data service bringing UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.

United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world. In addition, a selection of tables that present annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments. Data is available from 1998.

World Bank Data   Oxford SSO required to access this resource  This resource requires you to register before use
World Development Indicators & Global Financial Development

Access Worldbank data directly via the Databank or browse the Data catalog.

Regional Statistics

Eurostat   This resource requires you to register before use

The statistical office of the EU provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
The Eurostat New Cronos database contains high quality macroeconomic and social statistics data organised into nine statistical themes; General Statistics, Economy and Finance, Population and Social Conditions, Industry, Trade and Services, Agriculture and Fisheries, External Trade, Transport, Environment and Energy, Science and Technology.

MOxLAD: Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database

The partnership between the Economic and Social History Programme of the Universidad de la República, Montevideo, the Latin American Centre, and the Department of International Development.
The database contains statistical series of economic and social indicators covering 20 countries in the region for the XX century and beyond, providing a collection of statistical information in a single on-line source.

SHARE: Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe

A multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of microdata on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks from 20 European countries (+Israel) aged 50 or older.
The SHARE data can be downloaded from the SHARE Research Data Center or GESIS Data Archive for the Social Sciences under certain conditions.

International Historical Statistics (IHS)

A collection of statistical datasets covering a range of socioeconomic topics: sociology, politics, history, economics, business, international relations, environment, geography & statistical studies.

Cross-national time-series

Databanks International:
Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive

The longitudinal national dataseries provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listing of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.

For more information about the dataset go to the publisher's site.

Landscan

Landscan Global Population Database

A population database that maps geographical populace distribution within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modeling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.

Language of Peace

Language of Peace

The database, developed by a partnership between the University of Cambridge and the UN Mediation Unit, provides instant search capability across around 1000 post-World War II peace agreements.

GDELT Project

Global Database of Society: GDELT Project

Monitors the world's broadcast, print & web news from nearly every country in over 100 languages and identifies the people, locations, organisations, themes, sources, emotions, counts, quotes, images and events driving global society, creating a free open platform for computing on the entire world.
The entire database is free and open: download the raw datafiles, visualise using the Analysis Service, or analyse with Google BigQuery.