Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Energy & Environment

Energy and environment: global data

Climatic Research Unit (CRU)

Official webpage for a leading institution concerned with the study of natural and anthropogenic climate change. The Climatic Research Unit is based at the University of East Anglia (UEA) and has an online library of related data collections. Topics include Temperature, Precipitation, Drought Indices, UK Climate, Mediterranean Climate, Alpine Climate Data and dedicated subsets for Japan, Greenland and the Falklands.

Energy balance flows  ♦  Energy atlas  ♦  European gas trade flows  ♦  Key World Energy Statistics

The IEA Clean Coal Centre

Maintains a number of databases on all aspects of clean coal technologies and their use. They are free to view.
Coal Online
An encyclopedia of coal compiled from reports published by the IEA Clean Coal Centre and is searchable on a free to view basis.
Clean Coal Technologies
Aa fully searchable database that is freely available. It holds accurate, yet brief, descriptions of the many clean coal technologies and so it is a useful reference tool.
Emission Standards
The standards relevant to coal combustion are reported for each country or region listed and are available on a free to view basis.

IPCC Data Distribution Centre

The DDC provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future. The DDC is designed primarily for climate change researchers, but materials contained on the site may also be of interest to educators, governmental and non-governmental organisations, and the general public.

Emission Factor Database (EFDB)

A project supported by NGGIP (National Greenhouse Gas Inventories Programme) and managed by the IPCC's Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI). EFDB is meant to be a recognised library, where users can find emission factors and other parameters with background documentation or technical references that can be used for estimating greenhouse gas emissions and removals. The responsibility of using this information appropriately will always remain with the users themselves.

Landscan Global Population Database

ORNL's LandScan™, a global population distribution data represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours); its population distribution models are tailored to match the data conditions and geographical nature of each individual country and region.

UKDS Environment and energy data

Content on various issues ranging from household energy use to global greenhouse gas emissions, the production of oil and gas and the consumption of electricity worldwide may be downloaded or analysed online.

UNData

Environment - Environment Statistics Database; Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data; World Meteorological Organization Standard Normals
Energy - Energy statistics database

UN Statistics Division (UNSD) Environmental Indicators

A collection of global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables were selected based on the current demands for international environmental statistics and the availability of internationally comparable data.

DECC : National statistics

Loading ...

ONS statistics

Office of National Statistics

Environmental accounts

The accounts show how the environment contributes to the economy, the impacts that the economy has on the environment, and how society responds to environmental issues.

Earlier releases were moved to the National Archives website.