Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Country level data

Country Profiles and Statistics

IMF Country Information

Reports and publications arranged by country.

International Election Monitoring: Three Global Datasets on Election Quality, Election Events and International Election Observation

Data collection focusing on elections and election monitoring throughout the world on the national level.

International Energy Agency (IEA): Energy Statistics

Use interactive map to explore statistics by country/region.

OECD Country Statistical Profiles

Snapshot of data selected from more than 40 statistical databases available on OECD iLibrary.

UN: Information on National Statistical Systems

The UN central repository of country profiles, updated by National Statistical Offices worldwide.

The World Bank: Countries & Economies

Search by countries, regions, or country groups.

The World Factbook

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities provided by the CIA.

Analytical Data

A scholarly database in all disciplines of business including country reports.

EIU.com

Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, EIU.comcomprises executive briefings and industry briefings & forecasts.

FACTIVA

Provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services.

NexisUK

Online news and business research service brings together in a single source all news, financial and business information for the academic market from around the globe.

China

China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database

Analytical reports by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences intended to guide policymaking in the People’s Republic of China.

China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database 中國統計年鑒數據庫 (CNKI)

The database provides access to the official statistical yearbooks on a national and provincial level as well as to the statistical yearbooks of a wide range of major Chinese cities.
Please note that to access the latest data the Chinese version of the database should be used.
The English version of the database is updated with a certain delay necessary for translation.

National Bureau of Statistics of China (NBS)

An agency directly under the State Council, the National Bureau of Statistics is in charge of statistics and economic accounting in China.

National statistical Database

NBS established a new statistical database where you can query the time series data of major indicators in various specific fields provided by NBS; create personalized statistical charts according to individual needs; browse statistical yearbooks; use the modern visualized statistical products. The Database contains various data which include monthly, quarterly, annual, regional data, census data, and international data.

The Sixth National Population Census of China Database (NPCC)

The database provides access to 2010 census data in Excel and PDF format for download.
Originally available only in Chinese, now has English menus.

UK Sources

Aerial Digimap

This online service will enable you to view aerial photographs of Great Britain at up to 25 cm resolution. The photos can be viewed on screen, saved for printing or downloaded as data for use in GIS.

Data.gov.uk

The portal brings together public data released by the Government in one searchable website. There are datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.

Office for National Statistics (ONS)

The UK Government's single largest statistical producer; it offers expert help in finding, collecting and analysing data.

Americas

CEPALSTAT

The gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean).

Historical statistics of the US

Includes topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America, placed in historical context. It is fully searchable and downloadable and permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.

Statistics Canada

Uses administrative data for statistical purposes only to complement survey data, or in lieu of surveys and to support statistical operations.

USA.gov data and statistics

Provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years.

India

INDIASTAT

A major resource for Indian data on agricultural production, health, higher education, economic trends, tourism and other areas. The site also contains information on banks, crime, foreign trade, labour, population, urban and rural settlements in India and many other areas.
Login and password details are listed in Weblearn: follow this link. Please note: we only have a ONE user licence, so please logout as soon as you have finished.

EPW Research Foundation (​EPWRF) India Time Series

This is an online resource with comprehensive coverage of Indian economy from 1950. This subscription is limited to the following modules; National Accounts Statistics of India, Domestic Product of States, Finances of Government of India, Finances of State Governments, Power Sector.