It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GHO theme pages cover global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, mortality and burden of disease, health systems, environmental health, noncommunicable diseases, infectious diseases, health equity, and violence and injuries.
The database provides access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users are able to display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format.
Most of the data are made available through the UK Data Service but further analysis and commentary is provided by the OECD iLibrary with direct links to health statistics, social and welfare statistics along with indicators on health care use, health resources and other areas.
Brings together the resources of two databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS.
The database is regularly augmented with additional data and is globally accessible to approved researchers undertaking vital research into the most common and life-threatening diseases. It is a major contributor to the advancement of modern medicine and treatment and has enabled several scientific discoveries that improve human health.
A longitudinal survey, originally known as the Child Health and Education Study (CHES) collecting data about the births and families of approximately eleven thousand babies born in the United Kingdom in one particular week in 1970.
Access to material from the ethnographic project ‘Mass Observation’. A searchable topic collection covers issues such as family planning, health, sexual behaviour and smoking habits.
This is a collection of all the material from the Mass Observation Archive. It includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1967, Mass Observation Publications 1937-1965 and 87 Topic Collection (e.g. e.g. Smoking Habits 1937-1965, etc.). The Worktown Collection includes material of a major study of the towns of Bolton (Worktown) and Blackpool (Holidaytown).
The resource also includes interactive maps, bibliographic resources and essays on various aspects of Mass Observation.
Useful for the study of social history, sociology, etc., of modern Britain, it covers topics such as abortion, old age, crime, eating habits, shopping, fashion, dance, popular music, coal mining, adult education, sex, reading, ethnic minorities, and the decline of Empire. It is a resource that will be welcomed by historians, literary scholars, sociologists, anthropologists and political scientists.
A multi-topic household survey (also known as Understanding Society) with a strong emphasis on health, family and social ties, work and quality of life. The study is an annual survey of each adult member of a nationally representative sample.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout