Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Art & culture

Archaeology & Arts

Archaeology Data Service

An accredited digital repository for heritage data that supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources that are created as a product of archaeological research.

Art and Architecture (Courtauld Institute)

Originating with the Courtauld Institute’s multiple image archives, provides access to more than 40,000 images, plus a network of over half a million links - the pictures are made searchable, overlaid with a network of link.

Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts)

Offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications as well as full-text to over 300 periodicals - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)

The only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI)

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Arts on Film Archive

On-line access to a large range of films on art produced in the United Kingdom since the 1950s, a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK. Many titles in the collection contain rare material about individual artists, while others offer definitive coverage of their subject. The archive is an invaluable primary research resource for a wide range of scholars in arts and humanities. Its films contain valuable source material for biographies, monographs, and many other forms of research in art history and documentary film-making.

ARTstor

A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images, a collection of collections.
The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.
Please, note: Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.

Culture

World Cultures

A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.