A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals.
Working Papers are pre-publication versions of academic articles, book chapters, technical papers, or reviews. Authors may release working papers to share ideas or to receive feedback on their work. This is done before the author submits the final version of the paper to a peer reviewed journal or conference for publication. Working paper can be cited by other peer-reviewed work.
On this page you will find guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals.
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides abstracts of publications.
A regular publication of academic and research articles.
A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
The published record of a conference.
A quotation from or reference to a book, paper, or author, especially in a scholarly work.
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides descriptors to help organise and navigate publications.
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.
Working (research, discussion) papers:
Pre-publication not peer-reviewed versions of academic articles, book chapters, or reviews which are are in progress, under submission, or in press and forthcoming elsewhere.
The tabs at the top of this section list Oxford University libraries with print journals of interest to those studying Sociology. A lot of journals are available online but some are still in print, especially those published before the introduction of computers and online journals, and they have not all been digitised.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guide:
Ejournals are digital versions of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.
The tabs at the top of this section list key ejournals, ejournal collections and free online resources relevant to the study of Sociology.
For structured literature searching try a combined search across single platforms, such as
Members of Oxford University can use ejournals that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ejournals are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ejournal collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ejournal collections too. Look at the 'ejournal collections' tab above.
Note, some ejournals have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.
Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.
The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ejournals.
The following is a list of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying Economics at Oxford. Not all ejournal collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ejournal collection websites to expand your search.
The platforms that host ejournal collections allow you to browse and search across all ejournals on their site and encounter titles of interest you may not have otherwise found. Unlike search engines, such as Google, these platforms allow you to effectively refine your search. You can be confident content is credible as it has been collated by the platform editors. It is clear where articles can be read for free through the Bodleian Libraries' subscriptions.
The ejournal collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.
Abstracting and indexing are two different ways of distilling content into an abbreviated form. An abstract is a summary of a document, whereas an index acts as a guide to it. Information in journal articles and conference proceedings is indexed and, in abstracting databases, a short summary or abstract is provided.
For abstracts and indexes focused on more precise subjects you might try searching EBSCO's:
A platform that provides a single point of access for a variety of content, including bibliographic databases.
To help navigate its sizable content ProQuest provides
For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or a book after publication, go to:
The following is a list of ejournal collections applicable to those studying Sociology at Oxford and freely available on the web.
You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access these collections. Note, they are different to the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries for which you need your Single Sign On for access.
Working (Research / Discussion) Papers, pre-publication versions of technical papers, academic articles, book chapters, or reviews, are a great way to find leading edge research and read about new concepts before they are published officially in a journal.
Services like SSRN allow for a controlled searching of working paper series and author pages.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards. For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: