Freely available online to researchers, a growing archive containing books, research journals, data abstracts and conference papers from the output of research over many decades, allows to explore the dynamics of change, particularly in consumer behaviour.
The search program includes data on sociology and cultural and social history, and is a source of information on trend data.
This database of the digitised Mass Observation archive is available to University members. As well as providing online access to top level file reports produced by Mass Observation from 1937 to 1972, this resource also provides access to the raw data used to produce them for a series of topic collections, including Juvenile Delinquency; Korea, 1950; and Radio Listening, 1939-1948. This raw material consists of interviews as well as questionnaires, observations and ephemera. To access this resource from outside the Oxford University network, follow the link through SOLO.
Organised around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the accessible insights of women's history.
This collection consists of two distinct elements:
A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives;
Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.
A portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainment and the first moving pictures.
Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, Ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Arguably the most important British national paper. You can find much information on cultural affairs, such as a plays and operas, Law reports and court circulars, etc. Supplementary research tools are useful, helping you for instance with old currency.
Post-2011 issues can be found in Factiva. Note: due to an industrial dispute The Times ceased printing from 1 December 1978 to 12 November 1979.
The subscription doesn’t include Sunday Times and supplements.
Brings together discrete collections under a single user interface, standardising the metadata for each collection to facilitate faceted browsing and searching across collections. Allows users to tag and annotate images and group together content into their own virtual collections.
Provides access to thousands of items, offering insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Categories include the Booktrade, Popular Prints, 19th Century Entertainment, Crimes, Murders & Executions, and Advertising.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout