Skip to Main Content

Sociology: Getting Started

Subjects: Sociology

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in Sociology, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about printed and online resources, including ebooks, ejournals, databases, and special collections for Sociology.

Finding books for Sociology

Oxford has a wide range of printed books for Sociology, including the main collection in the Social Science Library. See below other libraries which hold Sociology books.
It also offers an ever-increasing access to e-books collections.

For more detailed information on our ebook collections visit the Ebooks & Online Reference page of this guide.

Journals

The Journals page of this guide presents subscription collections and platforms, which offer access to full-text periodicals in Sociology.

If you want to search for and browse all journals the University subscribes to, you can do so through e-Journals A-Z platform, a full browsable list of e-journals available at Oxford, or SOLO Library Catalogue.

Databases

The Data and statistics page of this guide introduces a selection of sources available for researchers and students at the University of Oxford. To see more sources, and find out about services for those who need to make secondary use of statistics and data, go to the the Bodleian Data Library.

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases that can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more.

You can browse Databases A-Z, a list of Oxford's online databases, or search all Oxford databases, along with other resources, on SOLO Library Catalogue.

Digital archives

Digital archives page introduces repositories of digitised material including images of documents, manuscripts, video, pictures, etc. held by the Bodleian and Oxford college libraries, and other institutions.

Which Library

Contact the Bodleian Social Science Library or the Subject Consultant (for subject enquiries) if you wish to ask a question or seek more help.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
John Southall
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library
Manor Road, Oxford, OX1 3UQ
+44 (0)1865 2-85936
Website

Browsing library collections