Skip to Main Content

Social Policy and Intervention: News & Analysis

Online News Sources

Factiva and Nexis UK

We have two large databases of world newspapers and other news sources, Factiva and Nexis UK. Both are comprehensive in their worldwide newspaper coverage and overlap in content although you may find that if a source isn't in one it will be in the other one. Coverage of the major newspapers starts from the 1980s.

Factiva

Factiva's collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.

Nexis UK 

Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.

Ethnic Newswatch

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.

 

An A-Z list of all of our newspaper resources is here

We also have subscriptions to the following news websites:

The Economist Online

Provides full access to every issue since Jul 1997.

Financial Times Online

The subscription includes access to subscriber-rated content and a Power Search facility that gives access to 8 years of the FT, along with 22 million articles from 500 of the world's leading business press publications.
NOTE: To access the service please ensure that you register with a username (the username will require a University email address ending in .ox.ac.uk) and a password of your choice by clicking on "Join Now" on the pop-up (it may take a short time to appear). To register off-campus please use the URL on the Weblearn page.

FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

FBIS has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Historical newspaper archives

The following historical newspaper archives are available:

 

Further help

A comprehensive guide to newspapers in the Bodleian Libraries is here.

Guardian Society

Loading ...