Skip to main content

Slavonic Special Collections: Taylorian Slavonic special collections

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students/researchers studying Russian and Slavonic languages and literatures at the University of Oxford, although students/researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about rare books in our special collections and online resources for Russian and Slavonic languages and literatures.

Introduction

There are important Slavonic named collections at both the Taylor Institution Library in St Giles and the Bodleian. .

Guide

Special collections

Oxford has notable special collections of Slavonic material.  The Bodleian Library holds most of the early printed book and manuscript material.  The Taylorian in St Giles is noted for its holdings of nineteenth century and early twentieth-century books and  periodicals.  Some Oxford colleges also have important collections of Slavonic and East European material.

Bibliography:

Cleminson, R. A union catalogue of Cyrillic manuscripts in British and Irish collections: the Anne Pennington catalogue. London: School of Slavonic and East European Studies University of London, 1988 ( = TAS Z791.A1.1988.C6)

Cleminson, R. Cyrillic books printed before 1701 in British and Irish collections: a union catalogue London: The British Library, 2000 ( = TAS SIMM. Z1013.2000.C9)

Drage, C.L. Russian and Church Slavonic books 1701 – 1800 in United Kingdom libraries: a list with bibliographical references, locations, notesand indices. London, 1984. Includes Taylorian books and periodicals (the fourth largest collection in Britain) ( = TAS Z2492.3.1984.D7=R)