Skip to Main Content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Reports

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Key websites for refugee reports and documents

Refugee studies grey literature documents at the SSL

Refugee studies grey literature GREY LITERATURE

Grey literature is a term used for unpublished and semi-published materials. Refugee-related Items within this category include:

  • conference proceedings,
  • field trip reports,
  • research documents,
  • working papers,
  • newsletters from a wide range of academic departments, NGOs, and individuals.

Most of the materials have a geographical orientation, dealing with policy or practice in a particular region or country. Particular strengths include southern and East Africa, western Europe, the Middle East, and South and South East Asia.

Date coverage is mostly from the mid-1980s to the present day.

Finding Grey literature

Use Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO) to find grey literature in the SSL from the former Refugee Studies Centre Library.
Keyword searching in SOLO is facilitated by the use of specialised subject terms taken from the International Thesaurus of Refugee Terminology.
The collection is in closed access stacks called RSC Boxes in SOLO.  Please ask Issue Desk staff to fetch items for you.

Classification

The grey literature is organised geographically and thematically, according to the classification scheme created by the former RSC Library in conjunction with the British Refugee Council. The classification consists of a country/region code followed by a subject code.
See below for PDF lists of the codes used.

Oxfam papers

The Oxfam archive is now open to researchers. Catalogues covering Appeals and Fundraising, Communications, Campaigns, Programme Policy, Management and Administration, Records of grants made by Oxfam, and Publishing are now online.
Browse by subject area, publication type, country or language. Subjects include: Agriculture, Climate change, Conflict, Disaster preparedness, Food security, Gender, Health, Private sector, Politics, Trade, and many more. Publications available for free download in PDF format. Items should be requested for consultation in the Weston Library.

Portals & gateways

The UNHCR collection of refugee databases offers access to a wide range of information including international law and practice; current country conditions; national legislation; policy guidelines and manuals; United Nations documents and an extensive collection of bibliographic references.
Gateway to development information with full-text and topical guides.
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe providing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.

Other collections

Official Papers for refugee studies

The guide to Oxford's collection of Official Papers relevant to refugee studies.

Refugee Council Archive at UEL

The University of East London houses the Refugee Council's former Archive which holds documents back to 1951.

UNHCR - New Issues in Refugee Research