Skip to Main Content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Journals

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Finding journals

To find printed and electronic journals search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue.  Electronic journals can also be searched via e-Journals A-Z under useful links on SOLO.  Print journals still housed on the open shelves in the SSL are shelved by title in the library's periodical section.

Finding journal articles

Use Databases A-Z on SOLO to find journal articles on a subject.  Key databases for forced migration and refugee studies are:

Provides access to the International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS), the Social Science Database and the Sociology Collection among others, covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text
from hundreds of leading social science journals. .
SCOPUS, a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences
Part of ISI Web of Knowledge, includes behavioural and social sciences going back to 1970.
 

Table of Content and Alerts

Zetoc 

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceeding from 1993 to date

JournalTOCs (Tables of Contents Service)

A searchable collection of that contains articles' metadata of TOCs for academic journals. Users can find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers

Google Scholar

Google scholar is also an easy way of finding journal articles. Here are some tips to get the best out of it:
  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching;
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks";
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search;
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it@Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.;
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.