Skip to main content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Books

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Finding books

Refugee studies books are organised by Library of Congress (LC) classification and shelved within the main run of SSL books. The Library holds about 5,000 books on refugee related topics.

Use SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue to search for books by author, title or subject. Within SOLO, refugee studies books are given subject terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and the International Thesaurus of Refugee Terminology (ITRT).

If you prefer to browse the shelves, use the browsing guide below to find LC shelfmarks for particular topics.

Finding chapters in edited books

SOLO also includes some records for individual chapters within edited books. Many SOLO records for books contain tables of contents in the description field so searching anywhere in the record may also find authors and titles of chapters.

You can also look for book chapters in the Sociology collection provided by ProQuest which includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts and Sociology Database.

Google Book Search searches the full text of books, including bibliographies and references.
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.

Google Book Search

New Books for Forced Migration

Use the Forced Migration library to learn about new books relating to refugees, internally displaced persons, stateless people, and other forced migrants.

eBook Collections

All e-books can be accessed individually via SOLO, or elibraries and direclty through publisher collections via Databases A-Z:

Center for Security Studies (ETHzürich) Digital Library

The library specifically focuses on international relations and security studies and includes approximately 75,000 open source books, chapters, articles, reports, transcripts, etc., which anyone can access, download and use.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

A collection of over 2,000 purchased books ('Our Collection') as well as over 3000 free e-books. Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book licence. See deatails on accessing the ebooks on this platform.
 

OECDiLibrary

Comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals and working papers.

Oxford Handbooks Online

The collection contains essays with extensive referencing to further reading, offering both introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Collections of eBooks from Oxford University Press:
Migration Studies (including Refugee Studies)
Development, Growth, and Environmental

ProQuest Ebook Centralaka EBL (eBook library) and ebrary

Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including UPs and other top publishers.

ScienceDirect

Elsevier's full-text platform, ScienceDirect, offers over a quarter of the world's STM (Science, Technical and Medical) articles integrated with a growing range of authoritative books, including reference works, handbooks and book series. In addition to currrent subscriptions ScienceDirect offers over 250,000 open access articles. View the open access journal directory and publications with open access articles.

T&F eBooks Library

A selected package of eBooks from the publisher. When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.

SRMO

SAGE research methods online (SRMO)

A tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. The site includes access to the "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series as well as dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks and other material.
Cases
Browse hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
Methodspace

An online network for the community of researchers engaged in research methods led by NatCen Social Research, SAGE and the Oxford Internet Institute, and funded by the NCRM.