The archive of the Society for the Protection of Science & Learning, founded in 1933 as the Academic Assistance Council, contains papers relating to the support of academics fleeing the Fascist and Communist regimes in Europe between 1933 and 1987.
Bodleian Special Collections also hold the Brookings Internally Displaced Persons Archive. This comprises papers and audio-visual material relating to the Representative of the UN Secretary-General (RSG) on internally displaced persons (IDPs), papers and audio-visual material relating to RSG interactions with individual countries, papers relating to RSG relationship with the United Nations and its affiliated bodies and with non-governmental organisations, papers relating to RSG relationship with regional organisations, papers relating to the guiding principles on internal displacement, and Brookings IDP project publications, papers and programmes. The date range is 1983-2012.
An online archive of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
The database is available through A-Z Databases for University members.
The Bodleian Social Science Library holds three collections of personal papers:
The Library also houses the Refugee Health Collection, deposited by the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and the LIPS (Lebanese Information Processing Service) collection which covers events in Lebanon from 1985-1992 and is owned by the Centre for Lebanese Studies.
To consult the Weis and Cooper archives please contact Sarah Rhodes to arrange an appointment.
The Betts, Refugee Health and LIPS collections can all be searched via SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue, and documents should be requested from the Issue Desk.
National Register of Archives is an essential tool for locating manuscripts and archives in the UK.
Houses a library of contemporary and historical material relating to slavery worldwide and its related subjects.
An informal group of archivists, historians, NGOs and refugee communities whose main focus is the administration and care of refugee history archives in the UK.