Skip to main content

Managing your references: ProQuest RefWorks (New RefWorks)

Reader Survey

If you are a Bodleian Libraries user, please take part in our reader survey. Closes 18th February.

Citations and bibliographies

Cite references and create bibliographies in Microsoft Word documents and Google DocsThere are a few plugins to choose from depending on which word processor you are using:

Write 'n' Cite: Word for Windows and versions of Word for Mac prior to 2016.

RefWorks Citation Manager: Word for Mac 2016/2017.

Cites in Google Docs: Google Docs.

For instructions on how to install Write-N-Cite, RefWorks Citation Manager or Cites in Google Docs, see our FAQs page.

Sharing references

ProQuest RefWorks allows you to share your references with individuals or your institution. You have the ability to allow exporting, printing, generating a list of references and using custom output styles

ProQuest RefWorks (new RefWorks)

To use the new version of RefWorks, register at https://refworks.proquest.com/.This is recommended for users who are entirely new to RefWorks.

The Bodleian Libraries recommends that those using Legacy RefWorks (the previous version) delay moving to ProQuest RefWorks until you have finished working on documents where you are inserting citations from Legacy RefWorks. This is because of compatibility problems in Word documents which have already been edited in Legacy RefWorks (>find out more about migrating from Legacy RefWorks to ProQuest RefWorks). 

Training in RefWorks

Collecting references

Direct export

You can export or push references to RefWorks from many online databases, library catalogues such as SOLO and from Google Scholar.  

  1. First run your search in the database or library catalogue.
  2. On the results page look for options such as "Export", "Save",  "Push" or "Reference Management".
  3. Once you have chosen Export (or Save, Push etc.)  you will often be given a choice of reference manager - choose RefWorks.
  4. Once you have chosen to export to RefWorks (or push to RefWorks, save to RefWorks etc) you will be asked whether you wish to export to "Legacy RefWorks" or "ProQuest RefWorks". Choose "ProQuest RefWorks".

Indirect export

Some online databases do not have a direct export option. Where this is the case you can often save your results as "RIS" or plain text files. These can then be imported in to RefWorks.

  1. Run your search in the database or library catalogue.
  2. On the results page look for options  to "Export" or "Save". 
  3. Once you have chosen Export (or Save)  choose "RIS", "TXT" or "RefWorks tagged format" and save the file to a location on your computer where you will be able to find it (e.g. c:/downloads).
  4. Open RefWorks and choose Add followed by Import references.
  5. You can either drag and drop the file into your browser or click Select a file from your computer and navigate to find the file that you saved (e.g. in c/downloads)
  6. RefWorks should identify the 'import filter' from the file. If it correctly identiifed the import filter, simply click Import. If RefWorks does not identify the import filter, find the name of the database or library catalogue you used from the drop down menu. Failing that, choose RIS or RefWorks tagged format. Click Import.

The Import References function can also be used to pull in references from other reference managers such as Endnote, Mendeley or Zotero.

Capture with 'Save to RefWorks'

You can save references from web pages by installing the Save to RefWorks tool in your browser. To do this, open Refworks and choose Tools > Tools > Install Save to RefWorks.

Once you have installed the plug in, click on it when you want to add a web page to RefWorks.

Drag and drop PDF files

You can drag and drop PDFs into RefWorks. This does two things. Firstly, the PDF will be saved to your RefWorks account. Secondly, RefWorks will read the metadata from the PDF, extract the bibliographical details and automatically create a reference for you. Have RefWorks open in your browser and your documents window open next to it. Click and hold the PDF you want to add to RefWorks, drag it to RefWorks in your browser and a blue circle prompting you to drop your file should appear. Let go of the mouse and drop the file into RefWorks.

Manually

Choose Add > Create new reference. This will pull up a form for you to fill in.

Need help with RefWorks?

ProQuest RefWorks (new RefWorks)

For help with ProQuest RefWorks or questions about migration please consult our FAQs page or contact reference-management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Legacy RefWorks (old RefWorks)

For help with Legacy RefWorks please contact reference-management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Workshops on ProQuest RefWorks

For help with RefWorks please email reference-management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk