Update on Write 'n' Cite Word plugin
Due to changes in Java's licensing, the RefWorks plugin Write 'n' Cite has been uninstalled from reader computers in the Bodleian Libraries. This took effect on Tuesday 16th April 2019 and means that Write 'n' Cite is not available to use on reader computers in the Bodleian Libraries. Please note, this does not affect personal computers; you will still be able to use the Write 'n' Cite plugin on your own device.
If you have any questions about this, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
What is the difference between legacy RefWorks and ProQuest RefWorks?
Legacy RefWorks (originally called RefWorks 2.0) is the original RefWorks platform. ProQuest RefWorks was introduced in 2016. This new version will run alongside the existing version of RefWorks until January 2019. For more information on this go to the Legacy RefWorks page.
We recommend choosing “Create account” (which will allow you to choose your own password) rather than “Use login from my institution”. The reason for this is that if you create an account, you will be able to continue to use it very easily as alumni.
Can I continue using RefWorks when I leave the University of Oxford?
Yes, you will be able to continue using RefWorks once you have left the University. You need to ensure you sign in with a personal email address to continue using the service as alumni. If you use your single sign on (SSO) to log in to RefWorks, please see the section below on converting your login credentials from your SSO account to email address.
I am using Legacy RefWorks but would like to start using ProQuest RefWorks. Can I do this?
If you are only going to create new Word documents using ProQuest RefWorks then you are safe to migrate from Legacy RefWorks. At the moment it is not possible to work on Word documents using ProQuest RefWorks if you created the document and have already added citations using legacy RefWorks. We recommend completing any documents you have started working on with Legacy RefWorks before migrating to ProQuest RefWorks.
If you are do not have any Word documents that are still being worked in, please see the section below on converting your login credentials from your SSO account to email address.
How do I migrate from legacy RefWorks to ProQuest RefWorks ?
NB. If you are still editing Word documents using legacy RefWorks, please see the section below on converting your login credentials from your SSO account to email address.
NB. If you have not yet created an account in ProQuest RefWorks, see the section on how to create an account.
To migrate from Legacy RefWorks to ProQuest RefWorks:
Yes. To do this:
How do I import my other references in to RefWorks?
Most other reference management software products have a function to export references as a RIS file.
Can I export multiple citations from SOLO to RefWorks?
Yes. To do this you need to add the references to your Favourites first:
Can I save documents to RefWorks?
Yes, you are able to add full-text journal articles and book chapters to their relevant reference in RefWorks. This is a useful way to keep your references and full-text documents together in one place. You are able to add Microsoft Office, Open Office or PDF files to RefWorks. You can do this in one of two ways:
When you add a PDF file to RefWorks, it will automatically read the metadata from the file and create a reference for you by filling in the relevant fields such as title and author.
With PDF files, you can highlight text and add comments to the file in RefWorks. For instructions on how to do this, see the section below 'How do I highlight text and add comments to documents in RefWorks?'.
RefWorks offers the facility to highlight text and add comments to PDF documents you have saved in RefWorks.
Can I insert references from RefWorks into my word processor?
Yes. You can insert references into Word and Google docs. There is a plugin called ‘Write ‘n’ Cite’ for those using Windows and those using Word for Mac (versions prior to Word 2016).
For those using a version of Word for Mac that is later than 2016, install the plugin ‘RefWorks Citation Manager’. People using a Word 2016 and later on a Windows PC can also install RefWorks Citation Manager.
For those using Google Docs you need to install ‘Cites in Google Docs’.
Is Write ‘n’ Cite compatible with cloud-based programmes?
No, unfortunately Write ‘n’ Cite is not compatible with cloud-based programmes, which includes the web version of Office 365. Microsoft Word will need to be installed on your PC or laptop. Please note that for University members, you can download Microsoft Office from the IT Services website: https://help.it.ox.ac.uk/nexus365/office-365-download.
However, if you use Google docs you are able to use a different plug-in called ‘Cites in Google Docs’, which allows you to insert references into your Google doc from RefWorks.
Write ‘n’ Cite is not working on my computer.
There is a known issue with Write ‘n’ Cite when using Word 2016 for Macs. Mac users who are using Word 2016 should install the ‘RefWorks citation manager’. To download and install ‘RefWorks for citation manager’:
There are two versions of Write ‘n’ Cite to download, 32-bit and 64-bit. My computer repeatedly produces a message stating that I have downloaded the wrong Write ‘n’ Cite for my version of Word.
Some users may (perhaps unknowingly) have more than one version of Word installed on their computer. If these multiple versions are both 32-bit and 64-bit, this creates conflict when trying to install Write ‘n’ Cite. Uninstall the version of Word you do not want to keep and try installing Write ‘n’ Cite again. To find out which version of Word you have on your computer (32-bit or 64-bit):
How do I create a bibliography?
You can create a bibliography in RefWorks.
RefWorks comes up with an error message when I try to create a bibliography.
This happens when there is a corrupt reference in the bibliography. You will need to identify the corrupt reference and delete it. The simplest way to do this is to go to the folder from which you are trying to create a bibliography, go to 'table view', select half the references and attempt to create a bibliography. If you are able to successfully create a bibliography, repeat this process for the other half of the references and try to create a bibliography. If RefWorks is unable to create a bibliography, you know that the corrupt reference is in the second half of the folder. Repeat the process by continually dividing the references in half until you eventually find the corrupt reference.
I can't find the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in in the Store.
If you are using Office 365 and are logged into it with your Nexus credentials, you will find RefWorks Citation Manager under a tab called 'Admin Managed' in the Store search box.
Can I change from one citation style to another in Word?
Yes, you are able to change citation styles in Word. Write ‘n’ Cite comes with a small number of citation styles installed. To change citation style in Word, go to the RefWorks tab in the ribbon across the top of Word and in the ‘Styles’ dropdown menu, select the citation style you wish to change to.
If the citation style you want is not in the drop down list in Word, you will need to use the style in RefWorks to create a bibliography (even if you don’t want a bibliography. Doing this will mean RefWorks remembers it as one of your preferred styles):
How do I delete tags?
Any tags that either you create or are imported from another service can be deleted in each individual resource’s record. The functionality does not exist to delete tags from the master list.
Can I change how my citation appears in the text, e.g. add pages numbers?
Yes but for the changes to be permanent you must be in the Insert/Edit Citation window in the RefWorks tab in Word. If you make these kind of changes in the text, they will be overridden and disappear when Write n Cite syncs with RefWorks.
Can I insert page numbers in my in-text citations?
Yes, if the citation style you’re using allows you to do so. The place to add the page number is in the Insert/Edit Citation window in the RefWorks tab in Word. The page number is entered in the ‘suffix’ box. It is important to put the correct formatting here. For instance, a comma followed by a space then ‘p.’ for page and then the page number itself would read “, p.11”.
How do I edit citation styles?
If a citation style you would like to use doesn’t quite match the criteria you have been asked to meet, you can edit the settings in RefWorks:
Is it possible to have multiple citations in a footnote?
Yes, this is possible.
Can I backup my reference library?
Yes. You can backup all of your references or a selection, for instance, a folder of references.
Click the Share & Export button from the toolbar at the top of the page and select Export references:
A pop up window will appear asking whether you want to export all or a selection of references from the current folder. It will also ask you what file format you would like to download the references as, BibTeX, RIS, Tab Delimited (csv.) or XML.
Once you have made your choice, click Export and you will be prompted to save the backup file.
For help with Legacy RefWorks please contact email@example.com
Workshops on ProQuest RefWorks
For help with RefWorks please email firstname.lastname@example.org