Pusey House Library: Online resources

The Religious Archives Group have complied a helpful list for anyone studying British religious history. It includes archival records for Christian, Jewish and Muslim communities, information on religious buildings, and more. To view the list, click on item 6 on the RAG's Guidance page.

The Bodleian History Faculty Library have produced a detailed guide to online primary sources, which includes several pages of suggestions for church historians (pp. 18-21). Please note that some of these resources are available to Bodleian cardholders only.

For more general historical research, the following can also be useful:

• Digital Bodleian
• British History Online
• Europeana
• European History Primary Sources
• Digital Public Library of America
• Library of Congress Digital Collections
• Gallica (Bibliothè​que Nationale de France)
• Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
• JISC Historical Texts

There is a Bodleian History Faculty Library Diigo page with hundreds more suggestions, and the Institute of Historical Research has a helpful list of Open and Free Access Materials for Research.

It's worth following the Bodleian History Faculty Library's blog for further ideas and updates. If you have a Bodleian reader's card, you can also recommend an e-book for them to purchase.

If you wish to learn more about the Oxford Movement, the following may help:

• Pusey House's own overview and biography of Dr Pusey
• Project Canterbury (database of relevant primary texts, including the Library of Anglo-Catholic Theology and works by Dr Pusey)
• Newman Studies Digital Collections (including letters of Dr Pusey)
• SOLO's e-books on the Oxford Movement (some accessible to Bodleian cardholders only)
• St John Henry Newman Canonisation Resource
• Keble College Heritage
• Radio 4 programme

NEW! This detailed directory of attendees at the First Anglo-Catholic Priests' Convention in 1921 has been kindly provided by compilers Christine M Hickton and Michael W Blain.

For more general research, the Bodleian Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library recommend the following websites:

• The Bible and Interpretation
• Biblical Archaeology Society
• British Library Gallery of Sacred Texts
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library
• ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World
• The Perseus Digital Library
• Society of Biblical Literature
• STEP (Scripture Tools for Every Person)

If you have a Bodleian reader's card, you can also recommend an e-book for the PTFL to purchase.

Wycliffe Hall Library recommend Bible Gateway (where you can read the Bible in 200 different versions and 70 different languages!), plus the Internet Sacred Texts Archive and the World Religion Database.

Other useful online resources include:

• Theology on the Web
• Open Access Digital Theological Library
• Index Theologicus
• Virtual Religion Index
• Clergy of the Church of England Database
• The Catholic Portal
• British Religion in Numbers
• Law & Religion UK
• Religion & Collections
• Sharing the Word
• Monergism
• Brown Judaic Studies
• NT Pod

The following may be helpful if you're studying the philosophy of religion:

• Oxford Philosophy of Religion Podcast
• Philosophy Now's articles on religion
• Cambridge Inter-Faith Programme Resources
• The Faraday Institute for Science and Religion
• Gresham College lectures on religion

The Bodleian Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library recommend the following general resources:

• Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy
• Philosophy TV
• The Institute of Art and Ideas

If you have a Bodleian reader's card, you can also recommend an e-book for the PTFL to purchase.