Skip to main content

Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature: Journals and articles

Guide to resources for Portuguese and Brazilian language and literature studies.

Finding journals and articles in Oxford libraries

If you are interested in finding a particular journal title, or you have a specific article reference, you can search for it directly via SOLO.  You can refine your results to show only print or electronic versions.

Alternatively, you can search for online journals directly via our E-journals A-Z listing. Please be aware that online access might only be available for selected years.

In the Taylorian, you can also browse modern languages journals in P.R.R., the reading room for SpanishPortuguese & Latin American (as well as Linguistics and Italian).  P.R.R. is on the second floor, opposite the Enquiry Room. There is also a Basement Periodicals (B.Per) section. All titles are shelved alphabetically.

If you have any difficulty locating a journal, please ask a member of staff. Print journals are for use in the library only, but photocopies may be made within copyright restrictions.

If you're interested in searching for articles on a particular topic, it's best to use a bibliographic database. Take a look at the suggestions below. 

Newspapers

To access full text articles from Brazilian national newspapers O Globo and O Estado de São Paulo (Estadão), use the following instructions. 

Finding journal articles

The best way to search for journal articles in your subject is to use a bibliographic database. In Oxford these are accessed through our A-Z of databases, where you can search for a particular resource or browse by subject. Bibliographic databases contain details of thousands of journal articles, book chapters and dissertations. You can often link directly to a full text copy of an article from such a database. Below are some of the most popular options for modern languages.

Literary press & book reviews

As well as book review sections in journals, you can look at literary papers or magazines for new titles. The Taylorian has the following on display in P.R.R.

Times Literary Supplement (TLS)

JL: jornal de letras, artes e ideias - major fortnightly literature and arts periodical published in Lisbon

LER: livros & leitores - monthly literary magazine published in Lisbon