Skip to Main Content

Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature: Books

Guide to resources for Portuguese language and literature, including Brazil and the Lusophone world.

Introduction

The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research.

Physical books

Use the tabs above to explore the key texts and libraries for those studying Lusophone literatures. Access to collections and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

Help with books

For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:

Below you will find key texts for students of Portuguese. The links will take you through to SOLO where you can find out how to access the books.

 

All the books in both the Teaching and Research Collections are arranged in classification schemes, with each book having its own shelfmark. The best way of locating a book is to search SOLO and note down the shelfmark, as well as the location.

However, if you prefer to browse the shelves there are a few things to note. Whilst the Teaching Collection Portuguese section has been fully rclassified to the Library of Congress scheme, there are 2 separate sequences of Portuguese books in the Research Collection:

E.g. a copy of Gil Vicente's 'Breve sumário da história de Deus' could be in 3 different places.

Old in-house classification:

Shelfmark CPW.241.A.1 in the Research Collection

New classification - Library of Congress scheme:

Shelfmark PQ9251.B7 VIC 2009  to find the same title again in the Library of Congress sequence (Teaching and Research Collections)


With very few exceptions, all new books go into the Library of Congress classification either in the Teaching or Research Collection. For a brief outline of the Library of Congress scheme for Portuguese, Brazilian and other Lusophone literatures, please see the guide below (PDF).

Less frequently used books are stored offsite and need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

Browsing the library's print collections can help you find relevant resources as the books are shelved in subject order, so you'll find related books shelved together.

Electronic books (ebooks)

Ebooks are digital versions of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. See the tabs above for details of different ebook resources relevant to those studying Portuguese.

Features

Many ebooks have enhanced functionality, such as connectivity with reference management software, the ability to annotate and accessibility features.

Access

Members of Oxford University can use ebooks that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ebooks are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ebook collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ebook collections too. Look at the 'ebook collections' tab above.

Note, some ebooks have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.

Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.

Help with ebooks

The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks.

Below you will find key texts available as ebooks for Portuguese.

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.

 

The following is a list of ebook collections applicable to those studying Portuguese and Brazilian language and literature at Oxford. Not all ebook collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ebook collection websites to expand your search. You can browse and search across all ebooks on the provider's website and encounter titles of interest you may not have otherwise found.

Access

The ebook collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions to the content. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the collections if you are not on the University network.

A selection of online reference works useful to those studying Portuguese.

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the collections if you are not on the University network.

A number of eresources, including ebook collections, are freely available online and listed below.

Access

Some of these resources are listed on SOLO but not all, so it is important to visit the websites to expand your search. You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. These are different to the ebooks purchased by the Bodleian Libraries for which you need your Single Sign On for access.

You will find study skills resources compiled by Bodleian Libraries staff available on Oxford Reading List Online (ORLO).

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons:

New books

Interested in the latest titles that have been added to the library? Take a look at our new books in the monthly spreadsheets below. You can use the filters in the spreadsheet to select the subjects you're interested in. Select the subject 'Portuguese' if you want to see Portuguese/Lusophone studies titles only. If you have suggestions for new books, please email me: joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk