Skip to main content

Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature: Home

Guide to resources for Portuguese and Brazilian language and literature studies.

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers in modern languages, specifically Portuguese and Brazilian studies, at the University of Oxford, although those from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about new books and online resources for Portuguese and Brazilian studies, including ebooks, ejournals, and bibliographic databases.

Related guides

New books

Interested in the latest titles that have been added to the library? Take a look at our new books in the monthly spreadsheets below. You can use the filters in the spreadsheet to select the subject 'Portuguese' if you want to see Portuguese/Lusophone studies titles only. If you have suggestions for new books, please email me: joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Portuguese and Brazilian literature collections in Oxford

The Taylor Institution Library is the home of modern languages at Oxford University, and houses the two main collections of Brazilian and Portuguese literature:

  • The teaching collection supports undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses in Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian literatures. Material is selected in line with reading lists, syllabuses and recommended authors, and multiple copies of key texts are made available. The Library also has a growing collection of Brazilian film.
  • The research collection of Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian literatures has particular strengths in the medieval and contemporary periods.

    The best way to locate material in the collections is by searching SOLO, the online catalogue of books, journals, archives and e-resources held by Oxford University

    This guide aims to provide information on how to find relevant books and articles, as well as linking to a number of useful online resources for Portuguese and Brazilian literature.

    Collection policy

    The Collection Policy document for Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature collections can be found below.