Skip to Main Content

Politics and International Relations: Journals

Introduction

Most of the journals held by Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be found via SOLO, as can the individual articles within many ejournals. If you are new to Oxford libraries or SOLO, please visit the 'Getting started' and 'How to' guides listed below:

  • Getting started guides
    A list of guides providing foundational information on using the Bodleian Libraries.
  • How to guides
    Find information on how to use our key resource discovery tools and library services. 

Physical journals

  • Bodleian Social Science Library
    This is the University's main library for politics and international relations, and holds a range of physical journals. Most open subscriptions on the library shelves are not (yet) available online with post-cancellation access.
  • Bodleian Law Library
    Has extensive holdings in legal history, jurisprudence, public and private international law, Roman law and criminology.
  • Nuffield College Library
    The library holds over 400 social sciences journal titles, and admits postgraduate students, researchers and staff from across the University of Oxford. 

A number of other libraries subscribe to journals relevant to politics and international relations:

  • Japanese Library
    One of the most extensive research collections for Japanese studies in Europe.
  • KB Chen China Centre Library
    The specialist hub library for Chinese studies at the University.
  • Latin American Centre Library
    Supports the study of Latin American politics, economics and history.
  • Middle East Centre Library
    Has unique and specialised holdings relating to Turkey, Iran, Israel, and the Arab countries.
  • Nizami Ganjavi Library
    Previously known as the Oriental Institute Library, its core collections cover the geographical areas of West Asia, North Africa, the Caucasus, Central Asia, South Asia, Tibet and Korea.
  • Vere Harmsworth Library
    Houses the University's principal research collection relating to the history and politics of the United States. 

Tables of Contents & alerts

  • ZETOC
    Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date. It is updated every day. You can search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up and modify email alerts; or set up RSS feeds for journals. 
  • JournalTOCs
    A current awareness service that enables you to discover articles and papers as soon as they are published online.
  • SCOPUS and ProQuest
    Enable you to set up automated updates on new content as it becomes available. 

Journal recommendations and inter-library loans

If we don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below. Alternatively we may be able to source it through the inter-library loans service.

  • Recommend a purchase
    If a journal you need is not held by the library, we can try to source or purchase this for you. we accept recommendations from current University students and staff.
  • Inter-Library Request Form
    Use this form to request journal articles and other material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check the Oxford collections on SOLO first. 

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical journals. The following tabs list ejournal collections relevant to politics and international relations. If you wish to browse ejournals visit e-Journals A-Z or BrowZine. 

  • e-Journals A-Z
    An index of the Bodleian Libraries' ejournal subscriptions
  • Electronic Legal Deposit guide
    A guide for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries' electronic Legal Deposit collections.
  • Online and remote access
    Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries ejournals and other online resources. 

Here are some ejournal collections of interest to those studying politics and international relations at the University of Oxford. Other ejournals may also be relevant. Check SOLO, e-Journals A-Z and the Databases A-Z lists for further resources.

  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    Includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, journal articles and policy briefs.
  • JSTOR
    Contains many classic political science journals back to their earliest issues.
  • Political Science Database
    Provides access to hundreds of politics, public policy and international relations journals. It also includes doctoral dissertations on politics topics, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports and policy papers. 

Here are some free ejournal aggregators of interest to those studying politics and international relations at the University of Oxford:

  • CORE
    Supported by the Open University and JISC, CORE's mission is to aggregate all Open Access research outputs from repositories and journals and make them available to the public.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    A community-curated directory that indexes and provides links to Open Access peer-reviewed journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Use this to search for scholarly literature including journal articles, theses, abstracts and books.
  • Oxford Research Archive (ORA)
    Provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses.

BrowZine

BrowZine provides an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals provided by Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards, and we recommend the following guide:

  • BrowZine guide
    Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford who wish to learn more about BrowZine.