Skip to Main Content

Research Guide for Physics: Journals and Conference Proceedings

Subjects: Patents, Physics

Introduction

A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals.

A conference proceeding is a published record of a conference and is a good way to learn about leading edge research.

On this page you will find recommended journals, guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals, and information on conference proceedings.

Definitions

Terms you may encounter in your research

Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.

Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.

Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.

Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.

Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.

Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are digital versions of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.

The tabs at the top of this section list key ejournals, ejournal collections and free online resources relevant to the study of Physics.

Access

Members of Oxford University can use ejournals that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ejournals are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ejournal collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ejournal collections too. Look at the 'ejournal collections' tab above.

Note, some ejournals have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.

Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.

Help with ejournals

The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ejournals.

Below you will find key texts for Physics. 

Access

Depending on the journal provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials.

The following is a list of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying Physics at Oxford. Not all ejournal collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ejournal collection websites to expand your search.

The platforms that host ejournal collections allow you to browse and search across all ejournals on their site and encounter titles of interest you may not have otherwise found. Unlike search engines, such as Google, these platforms allow you to effectively refine your search. You can be confident content is credible as it has been collated by the platform editors. It is clear where articles can be read for free through the Bodleian Libraries' subscriptions.

Access

The ejournal collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.

The following is a list of ejournal collections applicable to those studying Physics at Oxford and freely available on the web.

Access

You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access these collections. Note, they are different to the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries for which you need your Single Sign On for access.

Physical journals

The tabs at the top of this section list Oxford University libraries with print journals of interest to those studying Physics. A lot of journals are available online but some are still in print, especially those published before the introduction of computers and online journals, and they have not all been digitised.

Help with print journals

For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guide:

Conference proceedings

Conference proceedings are the written record of academic conferences, and often include written versions of research papers presented at the event. They are a great way to find leading edge research and read about new concepts before they are published officially in a journal.

The tabs at the top of this section list direct links to key conferences in this subject area and key databases you can use to search for conference proceedings.

Below you will find databases on which you can search collections of conference proceedings in the field of Physics.

Recommend a journal

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Browzine

Browzine iconBrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards.  For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: