Skip to Main Content

Philosophy: Training

For students and researchers studying philosophy at the University of Oxford

Introduction

The Bodleian Libraries host free workshops and classes to help you effectively search for and access scholarly materials. Topics include literature searching, keeping up to date with new research, reference management and measuring research impact.

On this page you will find details of centrally coordinated workshops that are part of the Bodleian iSkills programme and subject-specific workshops organised by your subject librarian.

Philosophy training

This box is intended for new students studying philosophy at the University of Oxford. It includes two brief videos that should be used in conjunction with the Bodleian Libraries welcome materials for new students available at the links below. The first video is an introduction to the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library, one of the Bodleian Libraries and the main lending library for philosophy students. The second video is an introduction to philosophy eresources, with presentation materials provided by Subject Librarian Dr Hilla Wait.

A third video - created by Director of Undergraduate Studies in the Philosophy Faculty, Tom Sinclair - provides guidance for students thinking about taking Philosophy paper 199: the Thesis in Philosophy. 

Centrally coordinated training and resources

Bodleian iSkills is a centrally coordinated programme primarily aimed at University of Oxford students and staff and, for particular workshops, Oxford University Hospitals (OUH) staff. The programme covers literature searching, reference management, Open Access, Research Data Management and more. Look at the Bodleian iSkills webpage for a list of courses that are running, links to webinar recordings and video tutorials.

The IT Learning Centre offer a range of training for the University including teacher-led group classes and online resources. Topics include managing long documents, spreadsheets, databases, statistical analysis and more. Look at their website for further information.

You will find study skills resources compiled by Bodleian Libraries staff available on Oxford Reading List Online (ORLO). You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.

The Oxford University Language Centre offers courses on English for Academic Studies for Oxford University staff and students who are non-native English speakers. Find out more on the Academic English website:

LearnHigher is a platform that provides free tips on academic writing, plagiarism, referencing and other aspects of university study such as group work and time management.

The Oxford University Language Centre is available to university members seeking to develop their language skills. It offers teaching across 11 modern languages - from intensive short courses to in-depth three-term programmes, and from daytime to evening to suit your schedule.

The Bodleian Libraries Map Room provides guidance, advice and help in digital mapmaking and analysing spatial data using geographic information systems (GIS) software.

Po Chung Personal Development Collection

The Po Chung Personal Development Collection consists of over 1000 volumes intended to support the personal and professional development of University staff and students. The collection was made available in 2011 through the generous benefaction of Po Chung and is housed in the Gladstone Link, underneath the Radcliffe Camera. All books are borrowable. Check the library's webpage for further details.

The collection can be browsed virtually at the link below. 

Self-help ebooks

Self-help ebooks recommended by Oxford University's Counselling Service are available on Oxford Reading Lists Online (ORLO). You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.

Research consultations

Subject specialist, Dr Hilla Wait, fields research-specific enquiries and is available for consultations. Visit the homepage of this guide for contact details.

Reference management

The Bodleian Libraries provides support on reference management software to researchers, staff and students at the University of Oxford. Take a look at the guide below to see a comparison table of supported softwares, details of training, and introductions to the software we support.

Recommendations

Current students are invited to suggest amendments or additions to library training sessions. Philosophy students should contact subject specialist Dr Hilla Wait in the first instance. Contact details are available on the homepage of this guide and the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library website.