Skip to Main Content

Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings and Departmental Papers : UK: Wales

Useful links

Wales keep up to date


The National Assembly for Wales is a devolved assembly wiith power to make legislation in Wales.

The Assembly was created by the Government of Wales Act 1998, which following a referendum in 1997. The Assembly comprises 60 members, who are known as Assembly Members (AMs). Members are elected for a four-year term. The National Assembly of Wales then took over the responsibilities and powers of the Welsh Office and the Secretary of State for Wales. The Government of Wales Act 2006 gave the Assembly limited law-making powers. A referendum on the 3 March 2011 has now made it possible for the Welsh Assembly Government to legislate without cosulting the UK Parlimanet in the areas that have been devolved.

Parliamentary and departmental publications

In areas such as defence, for example, Wales still comes under UK sovereinty. Please see the 'Parliamentary Papers 2000-' tab to access current material.