Skip to Main Content

Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings and Departmental Papers : UK: Hansard/Parliamentary debates

New resource

Public Information Online (PIO) This database is invaluable for searching current Parliamentary Papers. (Content for both House of Commons and Lords dates from 1900 to present, to include debates from 1909 onwards) The UK Parliament website does not offer and advanced search so we recommend you use Public Information Online to search Bills, House and Command papers to include papers of the devolved assemblies. 

(Note the UK Parliamentary Papers database only goes up to the 2003/2004 session)

If you require any assistance please contact official.papers@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Useful links

Hansard

Image show bound volumes of House of Commons Hansard

The Bodleian Law Library has a full set of debates in print format,  which are situated on the ground floor of the Bodleian Law Library. 

Hansard: digital collections

Important note on coverage

Please note for complete coverage of Hansard Series 1 to Series 6 please use the UK Parliamentary Papers database. For remote access please use the Single Sign On password. 

UK Parliament Hansard and Millbank Hansard do not have complete coverage of Series 1 to Series 6. Please see links below. 

Please see coverage for both here: https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/volumes/index.html      

Other papers

Division lists

You can view votes 'ayes and noes' by MP or party lines from 2006  on the UK Parliament Hansard site: For example see the results for the Offender Management Bill from December 2006

Image of a division list