Skip to main content

OxLibris: Study skills

Information about the OxLibris scheme for local Oxfordshire state school sixth form pupils.

Study skills for your EPQ

The guidance and resources on this page will equip you with the skills to carry out your EPQ or coursework research with confidence.

We have developed a set of downloadable learning units on study skills, each accompanied by a handy guide to that topic.  We have also compiled a list of other free resources to help you.

The Bodleian Libraries Education Team have also developed a series of online taught study skills sessions. You can find out more by emailing education@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Online resources from OxLibris

This set of downloadable learning units is designed to be used by teachers in class or as an independent study tool by students. Each unit covers a key study skill and may be used as a stand-alone unit or in sequence to give complete coverage of academic good practice.

We have produced a range of handy single-page study skills guides to complement each of the study units. Each guide contains a summary of the key information from the study unit for you to use as an aide memoir as you carry out the research for your EPQ, project or coursework.

 

We have also compiled some lists of resources available online to help you get started with your research in History and English/Theatre Studies:

See, as well, this great resource hub from University College, Oxford, which has links to loads of useful online resources to help with research in a wide range of Social Sciences, Medical Sciences, Humanities, Mathematics and Life Sciences subjects. You can pick a subject area such as Social Science and narrow it to a specific subject, such as Politics, to view resources for that subject, or browse the whole collection.

Other resources from Oxford

  • The Oxford University website – find out more about the University and how it supports its students
  • Advice specifically on study skills here
  • Oxplore – website for secondary school students exploring topical questions and debates
  • OUP blog – essays and articles on wide range of academic subjects 

Using public libraries

Oxfordshire County Council Libraries homepage – make use of books, online resources and the study space available at Oxfordshire’s public libraries

Resources include:

  • Access to research (only accessible in libraries) - journal articles on a wide range of subjects
  • Range of Ebooks and RBdigital magazines including non-fiction ebooks and The Economist magazine
  • Times Digital Archive and British Library newspapers collection - range of newspaper archives covering 19th century to present day
  • Oxford Art Online - information about art and artists
  • Litfinder - access to literary works (including poetry, short stories etc)
  • Britannica online - online encyclopedia with articles. biographies and links to other online resources

Oxford Brookes Library

Resources from other universities

Several other Universities around the UK provide excellent resources and advice to support you in your EPQ research and write-up.

Some also have arrangements for school and FE college students to use their libraries.