Skip to Main Content

Ornithology: Finding Oxford Archives

Alexander Library Archive Individual Handlists

Search the Alexander Library Archive Collection

The Alexander Library holds an extensive collection of 19th and 20th Century ornithological notebooks, diaries, photographs and letters.

If you would like to consult items within the archive please contact the Bodleian's Special Collections Dept. to make an appointment: specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Further information on using Special Collections in the Bodleian's Weston Library can be found on their website.

Search the Bodleian's Archives: https://archives.bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Archives hub

Use the Archives hub to find unique sources for your research. The Archives Hub enables you to search across a wealth of archives held at over 220 institutions across the UK.


Click here to see the Alexander Library's Archives hub link.

Zoology and Elton Archives

These archives are held within the Bodleian's Special Collections Dept.

To make an appointment please email: specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Further information on using Special Collections in the Bodleian's Weston Library can be found on their website.

Elton Archive

Ecology research material produced by the Bureau of Animal Populations.

Zoology Archive

Research notes and other materials by Oxford zoologists from the late 19th to early 20th century plus photograph albums from the Challenger Expedition 1872-1876.

Need Help?

For ornithology subject enquiries please contact Sophie Wilcox:

sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries and for general information about Oxford's science libraries please check the Science Libraries LibGuide.

Search the Bodleian Libraries' Scientific Manuscript Collections

See the Special Collections Department Website for information on finding special collections material at the Bodleian Library.

For information on the scientific manuscript collections at the Bodleian, covering natural history and including the papers of contemporary scientists see: https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/early-sc/scientific

Search the Bodleian's Archives: https://archives.bodleian.ox.ac.uk