Skip to main content

Open Access Articles: Home

Open access resources

Did you know that you can access millions of high-quality articles from peer-reviewed academic and clinical journals for free? Many funding bodies now insist that articles based on research that they have paid for must be made available for free for anyone to read. These articles are stored in thousands of different subject and organizational databases across the Web, but there are a number of 'one-stop' search tools that will help you find articles on the topics that you are interested in. Take a look at our Open Access Articles tab in this guide to try some of these out. 

ORA

The Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is a digital repository of research publications produced by members of the University. For more information about ORA, including depositing and finding articles, see our help guide. To find out more about Open Access at Oxford please visit our dedicated website.

How can I find other open access articles?

arXiv
arXiv is an open access repository containing nearly 1,350,000 e-prints in a variety of fields including physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. 

Biomed Central
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Its leading research journals include BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology and Genome Medicine, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series – 65 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities. 

CORE
CORE’s aim is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide, facilitating free unrestricted access to research. 

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books 
DOAB is a directory of peer-reviewed academic books from a range of publishers. 

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 
DOAJ is a community-curated independent online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. 

Europe PMC 
Europe PMC is a repository providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Europe PMC provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE) and BioStudies. 

NORA 
NORA is the institutional repository for the research publications and research outcomes of NERC Research Staff in its four wholly owned Research Centres: the British Antarctic Survey, the British Geological Survey, the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, and the National Oceanography Centre. 

PLoS 
Public Library of Science (PLoS) was founded in 2001as a non-profit open access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Top scientists from more than 190 countries around the world have published with PLoS, among them 61 Nobel Laureates. 

ROAR 
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. 

Unpaywall
An open database of over 20 million free scholarly articles, Unpaywall harvests open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use. Its Chrome/Firefox extension allows you to "skip the paywall" on millions of peer-reviewed journal articles.