Skip to main content

Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries: Which edition are you using?

A guide to historical and current newspapers and news sources, covering the 17th to 21st centuries. Includes searching tips, outline common problems and lists key resources available to Oxford scholars.

Know which edition you are using

You may well expect an online newspaper issue to be the same edition as the print, but the modern newspaper world is now more complex.

Print editions:

  • regional editions
  • several editions per day

Free web edition:

  • will have breaking news and report on changes throughout the day
  • typically will not include print edition premium content
  • includes videos, social media & comments

Digitized reproductions of print edition:

  • Reproduce print edition
  • Exclude online only edition
  • Maintain print formatting

Online archives (Factiva/Nexis):

  • Does not preserve original formatting & layout
  • Includes print and free web edition
  • Often excludes articles by freelancers, some supplements, ephemera, pictures

Modern newspapers / collections which retain formatting

UK

  • Daily Mirror 1903-
  • Observer 1791-2003
  • Guardian 1821-2003
  • The Times 1785-2010
  • Financial Times 1902-2010
  • Illustrated London News 1842-2003
  • The Spectator 1828-2000
  • The Scotsman 1817-1950

Australia

  • Trove Digitized Newspapers 1803-1955

China

  • Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) 1956-
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection 1832-1953
  • Old Hong Kong Newspapers 1853 - 1984

Germany

  • ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem 1617-1994

India

  • Times of India 1838-2007

Ireland

  • Irish Newspaper Archive 1738-
  • Irish Tmes 1859-2015

Japan

  • Japan Times Archives Online (1897-2014)
  • Asahi shinbun 1879-

Russia

  • Izvestiia Digital Archive 1917-2010
  • Pravda Digital Archive 1912-200

USA

  • Chicago Defender 1910-1975
  • The Nation 1865-
  • New Republic 1914-
  • New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993
  • New York Times Historical Archive 1851-2013
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
  • Washington Post (1877-1999