Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Middle Eastern resources
Nashriyah: digital Iranian history
This project led by the University of Manchester Library provides digital versions of Iranian newspapers and periodicals many of which have previously been difficult to access. The provision of this collection supports the work of students and researchers interested in modern and contemporary Iranian history by enabling them to explore key events as they happened. The collection’s main coverage is: the premiership of Mohammad Mossadegh and the August 1953 coup d'état against his government (1950-53), the 1979 Revolution, and the late 1990s/early 2000s ‘reform era’ of former President Mohammad Khatami. Containing more than 12,000 pages, the collection is freely accessible without restriction.
FBIS – Foreign Broadcast Information Service [1974-1996] : Near East
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.
FBIS collections relevant for Middle Eastern studies:
Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.
FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.
Jara'id - A Chronology of Nineteenth-Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900)
This is a useful catalogue list of most periodicals published in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language or in Arabic written in a different script during the period from 1800 to 1900. This services does not make a distinction between newspaper (jarīda or ṣaḥīfa) and magazine (majalla), which were often both called simply jūrnāl during the period covered. Please note that digitized versions of the newspapers are not included.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (EastView & CRL)
A new Open Access collection of newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa provided by East View and the Center for Research Libraries. This collection provides access to digital newspaper archives of several titles. Content in the collection is generally in Arabic language, but also includes some content in English and French. With over 500,000 pages in this full-image/full-text searchable digital archive, it covers historic events from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century.
The following newspaper titles, plus more, are included: Al-Iqbal (from Lebanon, in Arabic); Tangier Gazette (from Morocco, in English and French); and La Vérité (from Algeria, in French and Arabic). Much of this content has never been digitized nor made available as open access material before.
Useful SOLO subject searches
"English newspapers Israel Bibliography"