Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key French newspapers
The following web sites provide access to historical archives of French and Francophone newspapers.
Gallica - newspapers
Gallica gives the full text of several important French newspapers including Le Figaro (1826-1942), Le temps (1861-1939), L'humanité (1904-1944)
Gallica: local and regional newspapers
Digitised historical French newspapers for the following regions:
Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine - Aquitaine - Limousin Poitou-Charentes - Auvergne Rhône-Alpes - Bourgogne Franche-Comté - Bretagne -
Centre Val de Loire - Corse - Hauts-de-France - Ile-de-France - Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrenées - Normandie - Outre-mer - Pays de la Loire - Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur
Gallica: La presse coloniale sur Gallica
Access to 29 digitised 19th and 20th century French colonial newspapers including Revue de l'histoire des colonies françaises (1913-1931), Revue de l'Orient (1843-1865), etc.
Réseau francophone des bibliothèques numériques
Gives access to a range of digital libraries (some of them with collections of digitized newspapers) including Gallica.
Key Belgian newspapers
BelgicaPress is an online resource providing access to nine digitised historical Belgium newspapers between 1831-1970. NOTE: You must register as a user first in order to see any images, even if they are out of copyright.
Over 4 million pages have been digitised and are full-text searchable. They cover 1831 to 1970 for the following newspapers: L'Echo De La Presse, Gazet Van Brussel, Het Handelsblad, L'Indépendance Belge (printed in Britain), Le Messager De Gand, De Nieuwe Gids, De Nieuwe Standaard und Het Nieuws Van Den Dag.
However, only content before 1919 is freely accessible over the internet. That is still an amazing 1.2 million pages and particularly good news for 19th century and World War I historians. Content after 1919 can only be consulted in Koninklijke Bibliotheek België itself.
Belgian War Press
The Centre for Historical Research and Documentation on War and Contemporary Society (Ceges-Soma [French-Flemish acronym]), a federal research institution on wars and conflicts of the twentieth century and their impact on Belgium, launched the Belgian War Press website on 14 December 2012.
The Belgian War Press introduces you to hundreds of Belgian newspapers that were written, printed and distributed clandestinely during the two World Wars.
Gazette de Leyde, ou, Les Nouvelles extraordinaires de divers endroits
Published between 1611 and 1811 in Leiden (Leyde).
Digitised scans for 1750-1793.
La Libre Belgique (La Libre)
Founded in founded in 1884 and one of Belgium's most important French newspaper.
The other important French-language Belgium daily newspaper, founded in 1887. Hardcopy: Jan. 1980-Sept. 1988 only
Key Dutch newspapers
The Couranten Corpus comprises the seventeenth-century Dutch newspapers available on Delpher. The oldest surviving newspapers were published in 1618.
Delpher - Boeken Kranten Tijdschriften
A portal giving access to over 8 million digitised images of Dutch newspapers, starting in the 1620s but being strongest in the 19th and 20th centuries.
You can search by keyword but also use some visualised browsing features by date and by title.
Kranten in Krantenbankzeeland
Contains a collection of newspapers from Zeeland (westernmost province of the Netherlands) compiled by the Zeeland Library. The digital collection includes only selected regional newspapers.
Founded in 1893, the largest Dutch daily newspaper. From 1999 in Nexis
Useful SOLO subject searches
French newspapers -- Directories
Paris (France) -- Newspapers
Belgian newspapers -- Bibliography
Press -- Belgium -- History
Various bibliographies relating to French newspapers are to be found at REF.F.21 in the French and German Reading Room, Taylor Institution Library.
French newspapers and press
Dutch newspapers and press