Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Chinese newspapers
WiseSearch is a Hong Kong based news provider that covers Mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao. Included are the archives of major Chinese newspapers from the national to the city level. WiseSearch also includes news published online, such as business reports, blogs and social media content.
China Core Newspapers Database
Collects academic and informative documents from core newspapers in China since 2000. Access is available for content up to 2016.
People's Daily archive (1946-2012)
With publication started in June 1946 and a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.
Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) (1956- )
The PLA Daily, which started its publication on January 1, 1956, is the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA) to release military news and comprehensive military-related information and is the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
This collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers gives an insight to Chinese political and social life from 1832 to 1953. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads. The collection includes major newspapers from Peking, Shanghai and Canton as well as the important missionary publications Chinese Repository and Chinese Recorder.
North China Herald (1850-1940)
The North China Herald is the most important foreign source of Chinese news during the period of its publication. The first issue appeared in Shanghai on 3 August 1850. A daily edition appeared from 1 June 1864 with the name The North China Daily News. Universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s.
Publication ceased on 8 December 1941 with the start of the Pacific War. In English.
Shenbao (1872-1949) / Shen Bao (1872-1949)
Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic in 1949. The newspaper was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, was written by Chinese reporters for Chinese readers.
Old HK Newspapers
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers in Chinese and English. Offers fulltext searching. Coverage 1853 - 1984.
NewspaperSG - Newspapers from Singapore
NewspaperSG collects the archives of about 50 newspapers from Singapore in English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. This includes the Straits Times (available from 1845-1989).
Key Japanese newspapers
The Japan Times Archives Online (1897-2014)
From its inception in 1897(Meiji 30), The Japan Times has been Japan's most widely read English-language daily newspaper, providing very wide coverage of world and domestic news, business and politics.
The Japan Times Online (1999-present)
Access to post-1998 articles from Japan's most important English-language daily.
Database provides 24-Hour Nikkei News with over 100 stories translated from Nikkei's Japanese newspapers daily, Special features with archives on key economic and political issues affecting Japan. Stock, bond and forex information with the latest reports Corporate database of over 3,300 listed and OTC companies featuring stock quotes, financial highlights and corporate profiles.
Online editions of the Japan Economic Almanac Online edition of the Nikkei Weekly. Recently the Nikkei Newspaper Archive (1876-1956) has been added to the database.
Note: The opening page (in Japanese) takes a while to load. Also note that we only have a three simultaneous user licence so please close your browser when you have finished.
The Times Supplements (1910-1916)
The Times Supplements consist of a series of full-text searchable, geographically-based issues, originally published between 1910 and 1916, as supplements of The Times. The Supplements cover various aspects of mainly South America, Russia and then Japan. Dedicated issues to World War I and one-off special issues were also published.
Key North Korean newspapers
NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to provide authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists. The service was established in April 2010 and has staff in Washington DC, Seoul, and London.
Using SOLO subject searches
Chinese newspapers -- China -- Shanghai -- History
English newspapers -- East Asia -- History
English newspapers -- Japan