Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selections of online resources
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts, record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and create their own playlists, clips and clip compilations. Content includes BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, Film4, 10 foreign language channels, BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s, and more.
Access to Pathé News newsreels and documentaries from 1910 until 1970 in the UK. The Pathé News archive is known today as British Pathé. The archive contains 85,000 individual items. The collections are themed and include: War Collections, Politics & Political Figures, Royal Collections, Country Profiles, Sport, Seasonal Collections, British Pathé Programming
Gaumont Pathé Archives
The combined archives of the Gaumont, Éclair and French Pathé news archives, with news material going back to 1896. There are a substantial number of streamed video copies of the Gaumont newsreels. Contains 250,000 documents, 17,000 films documentaries and 14,000 hours of footage.
AP Archive (Associated Press) on YouTube
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press -- the world's largest and oldest news agency. The entire AP Archive collection is now viewable on YouTube. New material is added every day.
British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC)
Includes a number on online resources: British Universities Newsreel Database (BUND) carries information on more than 180,000 cinema newsreel stories released into British cinemas between 1911 and 1979.
Raidió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ), Ireland's National Public Service Broadcaster, are responsible for collecting, preserving and making accessible the creative and documentary output of the national broadcaster.
Access to selective digitised radio and TV news. Themes currently include:
1989-1990 "Die Wende"
1961 construction of the Berlin Wall
1936 Olympic Games in Berlin und Garmisch-Partenkirchen.