Skip to main content

Music at Oxford - a guide to libraries and resources: Home

Subjects: Music

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Music at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books, scores, recordings and online resources for music, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books, scores & recordings

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Music as well as printed books, scores and recordings, including the main music collections in the Bodleian and Music Faculty Libraries.

If you need help with SOLO, take a look at the guide below for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for music but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

If you want to search for and browse all journals the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated e-Journals A-Z platform or SOLO.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Music below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

If you want to search for and browse all databases the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated Databases A-Z platform or SOLO.

Contact your subject specialist

Profile Photo
Martin Holmes
Contact:
Music Section,
Bodleian Special Collections,
Weston Library,
Broad Street,
Oxford.
OX1 3BG
01865-277064 / 276146

Related guides

Key libraries

Music Faculty Main Entrance