Skip to Main Content

Music at Oxford - a guide to libraries and resources: Databases

Subjects: Music

Introduction

Using databases makes it easier to search for content on a particular subject. Some databases will have full-text access to resources while others offer abstracting or indexing services, or give an overview of a field of enquiry. Oxford's subscription databases can be accessed through SOLO or Databases A-Z. If you are new to SOLO we recommend visiting the 'How to' guides at the link below.


The page below showcases popular databases used for the study of philosophy. It is recommended that you engage with databases relevant to your subject so that you become familiar with the different features offered. Such features include:

  • Thesauri.
  • Bibliographies.
  • Sophisticated searching, including Boolean operators, filters, wildcards, truncation, fuzzy searches, proximity searches and command line searches.
  • Citation tools and bibliometrics.

Databases

Oxford subscribes to a large number of bibliographic databases and these can be found by title or by a subject search in Database A-Z

Database recommendations

If there is an eresource useful to your work that Oxford does not subscribe to, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required).

Oxford Music Online (Grove)

Oxford Music Online logo

For help on understanding and using Grove online, see:

MGG (Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart)

MGG logo

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies banner image


Why not watch a video form the Take a Tour pages to see Oxford Bibliographies in action.