Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Aids - Music Collections: Music manuscripts from other libraries on microfilm

A guide to the finding aids available for the music collections in the Bodleian Library.

Music Manuscripts from Christ Church, Oxford

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 3: Christ Church, Oxford (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 13):

Part 1: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Details & PDF guide)

Part 3: Unpublished Continental Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Details & PDF guide)
 

Music manuscripts from Cambridge libraries

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 6: Cambridge Libraries (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 6):


Part 1: Mss. before 1850 from Cambridge Univ. Library and Ely Cathedral (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: Manuscripts in the Rowe Music Library, King’s College, Cambridge (Details & PDF guide)

[Part 3: Handel Manuscripts in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge]  Not available

Part 4: English Mss. before c.1880 in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (Details & PDF guide)

Part 5: Continental Mss. from the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge. Section A (Details & PDF guide)

Part 6: Continental Mss. from the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge. Section B (Details & PDF guide)

Music manuscripts from the Royal College of Music

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 5: The Music Collection of the Royal College of Music, London (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 7):

Part 1: English Music Manuscripts before c. 1800. Section A (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: English Music Manuscripts before c. 1800. Section B (Details & PDF guide)

Part 3: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section A (Details & PDF guide)

Part 4: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section B (Details & PDF guide)

Part 5: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section C (Details & PDF guide)

Part 6: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section D (Details & PDF guide)

Part 7: English Music from c. 1800 to c. 1870. Section A (Details & PDF guide)

Part 8: English Music from c. 1800 to c. 1870. Section B (Details & PDF guide)

Part 9: English Music from c. 1870 to c. 1930 (Details & PDF guide)

Music Manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland

Early Music. Part 2: Music Manuscripts, 1500-1793, from the National Library of Scotland (Adam Matthew Publications) [14 reels]. (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 11):

Guide: http://www.ampltd.co.uk/digital_guides/early_music_part_2/Contents.aspx

The Gerald Coke Handel Collection

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 8: The The Gerald Coke Handel Collection (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 10):

Part 1: Manuscripts of individual works. [Reels 1-21] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: Composite volumes, and additional printed and ms. items [Reels 22-34] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 3: The Shaftsbury manuscripts [Reels 35-53] (Details & PDF guide)

Other microfilms

The Library has a number of other microfilms of early printed music, and various individual manuscripts from different sources. The Music Faculty Library also possesses a considerable number of microfilms which will soon be transferred to the central Bodleian. Some of these are included in SOLO but not yet all of them. More detail of these additional films will be added to these pages in due course.

If you are looking for a microfilm of a manuscript not covered by the sets of films described in these pages, please contact the Music subject librarian.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Martin Holmes
Contact:
Music Section,
Bodleian Special Collections,
Weston Library,
Broad Street,
Oxford.
OX1 3BG
01865-277064 / 276146