Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Aids - Music Collections: Bodleian music manuscripts on microfilm

A guide to the finding aids available for the music collections in the Bodleian Library.

Principal Bodleian music manuscript collections on microfilm

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 1: Bodleian Library, Oxford (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 3):

Part 1: Unpublished Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries [The Oxford Music School Collection] [19 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: Court Odes of William Boyce [20 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 3: Manuscripts of Maurice Greene and William Boyce [17 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 4: Unpublished English Manuscripts before c.1850. Section A [19 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 5: Unpublished English Manuscripts before c.1850. Section B [23 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 6: Unpublished Continental Mss.: 14th, 17th and 18th Centuries [15 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Tenbury collection manuscripts on microfilm

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 2: St. Michael’s College, Tenbury [GB-Ob] (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 4):

Part 1: Unpublished English and Continental Mss. before 1650 [14 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 2: Unpublished Manuscripts, 1650-1800 [19 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 3: Unpublished Continental Mss. 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries [22 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 4: Unpublished Continental Mss. 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries [22 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Part 5: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 19th Century [10 reels] (Details & PDF guide)

Deneke Mendelssohn collection on microfilm

Preservation films of selected manuscripts from the library's Deneke-Mendelssohn collection can be found in the Weston Gallery, in particular:

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: The ‘Green Books’ of Incoming Correspondence [27 reels] (Weston Library Gallery - MUS. FILMS 5)

MSS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn b.4, and d.28-53

Microfilms of the following manuscripts from the Deneke Mendelssohn collection are also available:

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn b.2
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c.21
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn d.2
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn g.1-10

Manuscripts from the M. Deneke-Mendelssohn collection are catalogued online in Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts and in: Catalogue of the Mendelssohn papers in the Bodleian Library, compiled by Margaret Crum, vols. 1 & 2 . (Weston Mackerras RR – MUS. F. MEN. 5)

Finzi collection on microfilm

Twentieth Century Composers

Part 1: Music Manuscripts of Tippett, Bliss and Finzi (Weston Library Gallery - MUS. FILMS 9) (Details & PDF guide)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Martin Holmes
Contact:
Music Section,
Bodleian Special Collections,
Weston Library,
Broad Street,
Oxford.
OX1 3BG
01865-277064 / 276146